Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Help…How to remove Index of /

sholmes1

Total Posts:  1

Dear Magento family:
I’m a newbie in every sense of the word. I thought I was particulary computer savvy until I tried to install Magento and a website template on my own. What a wake up call. i have a new appreciation for website designers, programmers, and developers. After a week of troubleshooting and finding a host better than Godaddy (i hope...Crucial Host still hasn’t responded to my trouble ticket), I think I have the template and magento set up. However, when you visit my site: http://www.simplyfabgifts.com , you go to a page titled “index of / “, then the files are listed below. when you click on magento you see the template. i’ve read a few blogs elsewhere that mentioned something about index, but I see those files in Filezilla, but I don’t understand what Im supposed to do with them. I took all the files out of the magento folder in cpanel (as i was instructed by the “tech” support at template monster.com), but that caused the site not to work and I had to do everything all over again. Please help (and please be gentle - my first time using cpanel and filezilla was last Wednesday. This is all so new to me.)

Thank you,
Sarah

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

jmjack

Total Posts:  1

As this page comes up in Google first for this issue here I repeat the solution:
change permission
/magento/index.php to 755
/magento/install.php to 755
/downloader/index.php to 755

Magento Community
Magento Community

GoMageTeam
Guru

Total Posts:  356
Warsaw, Poland

Hello,