Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
Visible Category ID’s
 
Vinai
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  218
Joined:  2008-04-04
Heidelberg, Germany
 

With 1.1.5 and 1.1.6 it isn’t possible any more to see Category ID’s in the URL after clicking on a category, because of the “ajaxification” of the manage categories page.
If you want to see the category ID’s again, this is a quick and dirty hack to get at them again:

in app/design/adminhtml/default/default/template/catalog/category/edit/form.phtml:

replace line 31:

<td><h3 class="icon-head head-categories"><?php echo $this->getHeader() ?></h3></td>

with

<td><h3 class="icon-head head-categories"><?php echo $this->getHeader() . ($this->getCategoryId()?" (ID: " $this->getCategoryId() . ")":''?></h3></td>

Then you can see the ID of selected category at the top of the page (in Admin > Catalog > Manage Categories).

EDIT: I just noticed you can see the category ID’s in Admin > Catalog > URL-Rewriting. So, it is possible to get the ID’s without this hack.

Cheers,
Vinai

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
JKwan13
Member
 
Total Posts:  63
Joined:  2008-06-12
 

I haven’t tried this code yet, but Iots of thanks for this.  I really needed to be able to see the category ids to help me when debugging.  Thanks again.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FabioP
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-06-23
 

Thank you. I really needed this. grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
wildwisconsin
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  19
Joined:  2008-08-15
 

VIELEN DANK!!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
royalije
Member
 
Total Posts:  37
Joined:  2008-05-29
Spain
 

Thanks mate - this should be available out of the box!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
JesseStewart
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  82
Joined:  2008-02-18
Salt Lake City, Utah
 

worked great. thanks!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jawshchevyvan
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-06-12
 

magic rather, thanks muchly

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
benfrain.com
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  142
Joined:  2008-08-15
 

Great work vinai-kung - thanks for that hack, works like a treat.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
xactrecords
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  80
Joined:  2008-09-14
 

Nice work around.  I hope they just build this into 1.1.7.

great work!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

nice work Vinai

thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Thejosh13
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  252
Joined:  2008-06-23
 

Iss Nnnice!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
hearsay
Member
 
Total Posts:  72
Joined:  2008-08-04
 

Ah, very nice! I do love the new tweaks to the category manager, but it’s a shame the ability to see the category_id was overlooked. Thanks!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Sousa
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  348
Joined:  2007-09-02
Porto, Portugal
 

great hack, thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

hi,

here’s another approach.

Its currently just a hack to core but it will show the categoryID on the Node itself. Vinai’s approach has worked very well for me, except in some cases i just want to see the CatID on the Node itself

in the /app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/Block/Catalog/Category/Tree.php

from this:

public function buildNodeName($node)
    
{
        $result 
$this->htmlEscape($node->getName());
        if (
$this->_withProductCount{
             $result 
.= ' (' $node->getProductCount() . ')';
        
}
        
return $result;
    
}

to This:

public function buildNodeName($node)
    
{
        $result 
'[ID: '$node->getId() .' ] '.$this->htmlEscape($node->getName());
        if (
$this->_withProductCount{
             $result 
.= ' (' $node->getProductCount() . ')';
        
}
        
return $result;
    
}

hth
brendan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
center
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2008-06-20
 

WONDERFULL!! THX

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Leo27
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  127
Joined:  2008-10-08
 

Really usefull,
Thanks smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2