Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Magento or osCommerce easier to customize? 

ChrisLA

Total Posts:  7

Hi;

We need to decide on an e-commerce platform in the next few days.  Whatever we choose will have to be significantly modified to meet the requirements.  I much prefer what I have seen and heard about Magento; it is clearly more elegant & flexible out of the box.

I’ve been a hard core C/C++/Java developer, and while I’m not a PHP expert, I have worked with it.  I can find my way around the osCommerce source and work with it.  However, when I look through the Magento code I have actually no idea what’s going on, or even what file the stuff is going on in.

I gather there is a lot of sophisticated stuff being done with templates, XML, zend, etc; but I can’t find any guide or documentation to the general design approach, etc. 

So while I would prefer to use Magento, I have to ask if it is reasonable to approach it as a “virgin”—can someone reasonably skilled at coding and familiar with general PHP get up to speed & productive modifying Magento code in a few weeks, or if we should stick to osCommerce? 

I was pointed to “php|architect’s Guide to Programming with Magento” (thanks, Vinai)—would that give us enough to at least understand what’s going on?

Thanks,

Chris

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

Magentourist

Total Posts:  48
Berlin

take a look at this page:
http://magento-blog.net/should-i-use-magento

it reflects my experience so far.

Magento Community
Magento Community

kanetheninja

Total Posts:  17