Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Add States and Suburbs for Australia
 
vipatel
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-08-25
 

Hi All,
I am new to programming as well as to Magento.

I am trying to create a store for a local bussiness.

They want to Sell/ Deliver products in City/Suburbs of Brisbane( Queensland/Australia.)

My problem is for given country Australia, how do I add States and Suburbs.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Magentourist
Member
 
Total Posts:  48
Joined:  2008-08-11
Berlin
 

This might not be the best shot but here’s what I did:

Directory_country_region and directory_country_region_name contains the states. I added these manually (not nice) to the db. Now the appear as dropdown when the right country is selected.

I don’t know how to add the suburbs in the same way as this “third layer” is not part of the database schema. Unless you can live with a simple text input you’ll have to take a deep look into how the country state dependency is implemented and do the same for the suburbs in a custom module/extension.

IMHO the eav approach taken for the product configuration also should have taken to all aspects of the customer profile.

Good luck!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vipatel
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-08-25
 

Thank you for the reply.

I might try this lets see how it goes.

Will have to learn a bit of querying.

Any way thanks.

Will update if I can add suburbs.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
fwhong
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2008-08-17
 

There is a module called the Fontis Australian Extension that already does this and more

We use it successfully, and I don’t suggest you reinvent the wheel if you don’t have to smile

http://www.magentocommerce.com/extension/141/magento-australia-extension

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vipatel
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-08-25
 

Hi Fwhong,

This looks great.
I will definately try it.U have save me a lot of time.

Will get back if any complication arises.
Thankyou
Vishal

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mmarshall
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2013-11-15
 

Hi

I have been trying to install the following australian modification but I can seem to get past the Get Key stage - what is meant to happen then?  Is it meant to download an installable file or what?

THanks

Lindsey

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top