Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 3
Better Template System !! 

Raine

Total Posts:  3

So i was prepared for Magento cause it was *the new way* of ecommerce well it maybe is,
but you forgot one thing. Templates sick

I am a designer not a coder (altho i can write php)

But i was hoping for a EASY way of making customization to the site themes and doing my own style (hoping Magento was flexible enough)

But today i downloaded the svn release and looked at the templates.

<?if ($this->getGalleryImages() && $this->getGalleryImages()->getSize()):?>

<div class="more-views">
                <
h4><?=__('More Views')?></h4>
                        <
li><?=__('Buy')?> <?=$_price['price_qty']?> <?=__('for')?> <strong><?=$_price['formated_price']?></strong></li>

Tell me how would i make sense of this :/ (i could cause i recognize the php tags // but that is not the issue)
A startup designer must work on the design not on the code.

This template system may be easy for some people (maybe a lot) but for some… man..it’s a whole learning curve (just like wordpress templates)

Maybe you guys will address this in future version of Magento (i hope so) cause the only thing all the other ecommerce packages lack is a Proper Way of Templating (customization)

A example of a very nice way of doing templates (not advertising here, just explaining what i mean):
Take a look at ExpressionEngine they have a beautifully/easy way of doing templates, that makes much more sense (to me and a lot of other people). See here and here

Well all the other things of Magento rocks.

Magento Community Magento Community