Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 2 of 3
1.1.5 - UPS Shipping Allowed methods does not display shipping label
 
yrick
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2008-03-19
Redding, CA
 

I just upgraded from 1.1.4 to 1.1.6, and now I’m getting this same exact problem. You would think it would have been fixed in 1.1.6. See the screen shot.

The fix earlier in this post fixed the problem fro me.

Image Attachments
shipping.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bw2008
Member
 
Total Posts:  39
Joined:  2008-06-21
 

I just upgraded to 1.1.6 from 1.1.5 and I’m still getting the following error:

“This shipping method is currently unavailable. If you would like us to ship using this shipping method, please contact us.”

Country of origin: Outside USA

Apparently the fix is available on this forum since a long time but I don’t know why the Magento team did not implement the neccessary fixes in the upgrades.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
DDMAN
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  179
Joined:  2008-01-08
 

This fix worked for me in in 1.1.6 when I upgraded my themes to include this new method

bytestorm - 16 September 2008 05:47 AM

Hi, this was an intended change.
To get your templates working please change

$_rate->getMethodDescription()
to
$_rate->getMethodTitle()
in the following templates
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/checkout/cart/shipping.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/checkout/multishipping/overview.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/checkout/multishipping/shipping.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/checkout/onepage/shipping_method/available.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/paypal/express/review.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/paypaluk/express/review.phtml
* note: replace PACKAGE and THEME with your package and theme names respectively.
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Lataz
Member
 
Total Posts:  33
Joined:  2008-08-19
 

thanks bytestorm

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
wsj3
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  521
Joined:  2008-07-13
Portland, OR
 

This is really a sad reflection on the QA that takes place for the product. How could this have slipped past the Magento team if the release were properly tested?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Sébastien Yaher
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2008-04-05
 

Works great with your easy fix, thanks DDMAN!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Wes Vance
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2008-10-12
 

to use perl to do the replacement try

perl -i -p -e ‘s/getMethodDescription/getMethodTitle/g’ `find | grep .phtml`;

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
B00MER
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  130
Joined:  2007-12-27
DFW, TX
 

Just what I was looking for…

bytestorm’s fix works with 1.1.6.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
zadpro
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  247
Joined:  2007-12-10
FL, USA
 

I have the same problem in version 1.1.8. I checked the shipping.phtml and I found that the code is correct (see below), but I still don’t see the shipping method on the front page.
Any idea?

<?php
/**
 * Magento
 *
 * NOTICE OF LICENSE
 *
 * This source file is subject to the Academic Free License (AFL 3.0)
 * that is bundled with this package in the file LICENSE_AFL.txt.
 * It is also available through the world-wide-web at this URL:
 * http://opensource.org/licenses/afl-3.0.php
 * If you did not receive a copy of the license and are unable to
 * obtain it through the world-wide-web, please send an email
 * to license@magentocommerce.com so we can send you a copy immediately.
 *
 * @category   design_default
 * @package    Mage
 * @copyright  Copyright (c) 2008 Irubin Consulting Inc. DBA Varien (http://www.varien.com)
 * @license    http://opensource.org/licenses/afl-3.0.php  Academic Free License (AFL 3.0)
 */
?>
<?php
/**
 * @see Mage_Checkout_Block_Cart_Shipping
 */
?>
<div class="shipping-estimate box">
<
h4><?php echo $this->__('Estimate Shipping and Tax'?></h4>
<
form action="<?php echo $this->getUrl('checkout/cart/estimatePost') ?>" method="post" id="shipping-zip-form">
    <
p><?php echo $this->__('Enter your destination to get a shipping estimate.'?></p>
    <
p><label for="country"><?php echo $this->__('Country'?> <span class="required">*</span></label><br /><span><?php echo Mage::getBlockSingleton('directory/data')->getCountryHtmlSelect($this->getEstimateCountryId()) ?></span></p>
    
<?php //if($this->getStateActive()): ?>
    
<p>
       <
label for="region_id"><?php echo $this->__('State/Province'?><?php if ($this->isStateProvinceRequired()):?> <span class="required">*</span><?php endif;?></label><br />
       <
select id="region_id" name="region_id" title="<?php echo $this->__('State/Province') ?>" style="display:none"<?php echo ($this->isStateProvinceRequired() ? ' class="validate-select"' ''?>>
            <
option value=""><?php echo $this->__('Please select region, state or province'?></option>
       </
select>
       <
script type="text/javascript">
           $(
'region_id').setAttribute('defaultValue',  "<?php echo $this->getEstimateRegionId() ?>");
       
</script>
       
<input type="text" id="region" name="region" value="<?php echo $this->htmlEscape($this->getEstimateRegion()) ?>"  title="<?php echo $this->__('State/Province') ?>" class="input-text" style="display:none" />
    </
p>
    
<?php //endif; ?>
    
<?php if($this->getCityActive()): ?>
        
<p><label for="city"><?php echo $this->__('City'?><?php if ($this->isCityRequired()):?> <span class="required">*</span><?php endif;?></label><br />
        <
input class="input-text<?php if ($this->isCityRequired()):?> required-entry<?php endif;?>" id="city" type="text" name="estimate_city" value="<?php echo $this->htmlEscape($this->getEstimateCity()) ?>" />
        </
p>
    
<?php endif; ?>
    
<p><label for="postcode"><?php echo $this->__('Zip/Postal Code'?><?php if ($this->isZipCodeRequired()):?> <span class="required">*</span><?php endif;?></label><br />
    <
input class="input-text validate-postcode<?php if ($this->isZipCodeRequired()):?> required-entry<?php endif;?>" type="text" id="postcode" name="estimate_postcode" value="<?php echo $this->htmlEscape($this->getEstimatePostcode()) ?>" /></p>
    <
p><button type="button" onclick="coShippingMethodForm.submit()" class="form-button-alt"><span><?php echo $this->__('Get a Quote'?></span></button></p>
</
form>
<
script type="text/javascript">
    new 
RegionUpdater('country''region''region_id'<?php echo $this->helper('directory')->getRegionJson() ?>);
</script>

<?php 
if (($_shippingRateGroups $this->getEstimateRates())): ?>
<div class="divider"></div>
<
form id="co-shipping-method-form" action="<?php echo $this->getUrl('checkout/cart/estimateUpdatePost') ?>">
    <
dl class="shipment-methods">
        
<?php foreach ($_shippingRateGroups as $code => $_rates): ?>
            
<dt><?php echo $this->getCarrierName($code?></dt>
            <
dd>
                <
ul>
                
<?php foreach ($_rates as $_rate): ?>
                    
<li class="<?php if ($_rate->getErrorMessage()) echo 'error-msg';?>">
                       
<?php if ($_rate->getErrorMessage()): ?>
                            <?php 
echo $_rate->getErrorMessage() ?>
                       <?php 
else: ?>
                            
<input name="estimate_method" type="radio" value="<?php echo $this->htmlEscape($_rate->getCode()) ?>" id="s_method_<?php echo $_rate->getCode() ?>"<?php if($_rate->getCode()===$this->getAddressShippingMethod()) echo ' checked="checked"' ?> />
                            <
label for="s_method_<?php echo $_rate->getCode() ?>"><?php echo $_rate->getMethodTitle() ?>
                            
<strong>
                            
<?php $_excl $this->getShippingPrice($_rate->getPrice(), $this->helper('tax')->displayShippingPriceIncludingTax()); ?>
                            <?php $_incl 
$this->getShippingPrice($_rate->getPrice(), true); ?>

                            <?php 
echo $_excl?>
                            <?php 
if ($this->helper('tax')->displayShippingBothPrices() && $_incl != $_excl): ?>
                                
(<?php echo $this->__('Incl. Tax'); ?> <?php echo $_incl?>)
                            
<?php endif; ?>
                            
</strong></label>
                       
<?php endif ?>
                    
</li>
                
<?php endforeach; ?>
                
</ul>
            </
dd>
        
<?php endforeach; ?>
    
</dl>
    <
fieldset>
        <
button type="submit" class="form-button-alt" name="do" value="<?php echo $this->__('Update Total') ?>"><span><?php echo $this->__('Update Total'?></span></button>
    </
fieldset>
</
form>
<?php endif; ?>

<script type="text/javascript">
    var 
coShippingMethodForm = new VarienForm('shipping-zip-form');
    
Validation.addAllThese(
    
[
           [
'validate-postcode''<?php echo $this->__('Please enter a valid zip code. For example 90602 or 90602-1234.') ?>', function(v{
                
var element = $('postcode');
                if (
element && ('' != element.value)) {
                    
if (!element.value.match(/(^[A-z0-9]{2,10}([\s]{0,2}|[\-]{0,2})[A-z0-9]{2,10}$)/ )) {
                        
return false;
                    
}
                }
                
return true;
           
}]
    ]
    
);
</script>
</div>
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
malbiniak
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2008-07-26
Saint Paul, MN
 
bytestorm - 16 September 2008 05:47 AM

Hi, this was an intended change.
To get your templates working please change

$_rate->getMethodDescription()
to
$_rate->getMethodTitle()
in the following templates
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/checkout/cart/shipping.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/checkout/multishipping/overview.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/checkout/multishipping/shipping.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/checkout/onepage/shipping_method/available.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/paypal/express/review.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/paypaluk/express/review.phtml
* note: replace PACKAGE and THEME with your package and theme names respectively.

Thanks, bytestorm!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Nexus Rex
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  139
Joined:  2008-07-10
Utah, USA
 

After upgrading to 1.2.0.2 I just found that I had to do the exact opposite of what is mentioned here…

Change this:

$_rate->getMethodTitle()

To this:

$_rate->getMethodDescription()
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
dennisCY79
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2008-12-09
 
bytestorm - 16 September 2008 05:47 AM

Hi, this was an intended change.
To get your templates working please change

$_rate->getMethodDescription()
to
$_rate->getMethodTitle()
in the following templates
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/checkout/cart/shipping.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/checkout/multishipping/overview.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/checkout/multishipping/shipping.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/checkout/onepage/shipping_method/available.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/paypal/express/review.phtml
/app/design/frontend/PACKAGE/THEME/templates/paypaluk/express/review.phtml
* note: replace PACKAGE and THEME with your package and theme names respectively.

LifeSaver ! Thank you
D.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
gopher girl
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  16
Joined:  2008-06-29
 

i did this fix above and now getting this error…

Warning: simplexml_load_string() [function.simplexml-load-string]: Entity: line 46: parser error : StartTag: invalid element name in /home/freecdsa/public_html/azusedmusic/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Layout/Update.php on line 293
Trace:
#0 /home/freecdsa/public_html/azusedmusic/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Layout/Update.php(293): mageCoreErrorHandler(2, ‘simplexml_load_...’, ‘/home/freecdsa/...’, 293, Array)
#1 /home/freecdsa/public_html/azusedmusic/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Layout/Update.php(319): Mage_Core_Model_Layout_Update->fetchFileLayoutUpdates(’

Thoughts?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
gopher girl
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  16
Joined:  2008-06-29
 

sorry didn’t mean to post twice!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
elpas0
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  19
Joined:  2008-09-16
 

many thanks to bytestorm

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 2 of 3