Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Trouble getting magento to use another skin

frickaline

Total Posts:  2

Sorry if this is very basic stuff, I’m pretty new to this. 

I have the same problems on my local vista apache installation as I do on my linux ISP.  Basically I can’t seem to convince the admin control panel to make real changes to the skin selection.

If I follow these steps:

- launch my admin control panel, go to system->configuration->design->themes
- change templates, skin, layout and default to another name
- save config
- refresh my web page
- get source code from the browsed page

...shouldn’t I see new path names?

I keep seeing things like this in the html from the home page: <link type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" href="http://localhost/magento/skin/frontend/default/default/css/reset.css" media="all"></link>

...but I have hard specified for Magento to use a non-default frontend.  Seems to me Magento isn’t looking for a new skin at all but I can’t figure out why.  Seems like a pretty simple configuration change, pretty hard to screw up on my end on 2 separate platforms.  Is this some kind of a bug perhaps (maybe this only happens to brand new, clean 1.1.4 Magento installations or maybe there is something specific about how I’m installed on both of these systems)?

I also tried to install tealo (http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/568/) and had the same problem after following his steps.  Same problem, still looking at the ‘default’ directory.

I have the latest Magento (just downloaded yesterday), anyone have any idea what is going on here?