Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 2 of 2
MediaTemple GS Installation
 
bajolo
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2007-11-26
 

The URL is: http://magento.webrunch.com/ - this redirects to http://magento.webrunch.com/install
Then in the host to the DB and Store put “internal-db.s28046.gridserver.com” like in the tutorial.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

What values do you put in “Default Store” and “Secure Connection” fieldsets?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bajolo
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2007-11-26
 

In both:
host - s28046.gridserver.com
base path - i tried both / and /magento/ - neither woked

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

did you try magento.webrunch.com as host?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bajolo
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2007-11-26
 

Finally!
Thanks Moshe!
That was the piece of the puzzle that was missing.
Should i tell something to the creator of the tutorial i have spoken in the main post of this thread?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Michae1
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  826
Joined:  2007-08-31
 
bajolo - 28 November 2007 01:51 PM

Should i tell something to the creator of the tutorial i have spoken in the main post of this thread?

I think you should not grin It is actually me.

It was intentionally mentioned there in the tutorial that you have to check whether installation wizard correctly determined your web-host name and path. And so far it does it correctly while installing Magento on (mt) (gs) accounts, you don’t need to change anything there.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ZuckaS
Member
 
Total Posts:  37
Joined:  2007-10-16
 

Does anyone have any slow performance issues with a GS account? It takes us ~8 seconds to load the homepage alone.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

@ZuckaS: did you try enabling cache in Admin -> System -> Cache Management?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ZuckaS
Member
 
Total Posts:  37
Joined:  2007-10-16
 

Thanks for a quick reply. We wanted to play with the cache settings once we are done with the catalog. We were affrraid it would make catalog troubleshooting harder. I will try. Is there anything we should be aware of prior to enabling caching?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

@ZuckaS: No, there’s nothing to worry about caching.
It is disabled by default not to confuse things when upgrading or customizing.
Also, editing attributes does not clear cache yet.

Otherwise during normal store run all should be enabled.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ZuckaS
Member
 
Total Posts:  37
Joined:  2007-10-16
 

Thanks, I just enabled them all. It looks like that helped a lot.

Cheers!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 2 of 2