Magento Forum

Vendor SKU
 
LorenzoG
Member
 
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2007-09-02
 

I want to suggest to add an alternative field called “Vendor SKU” to be tied to each product.

In this way, we would be able to use both our own SKU and the Vendor SKU (or Manufacturer SKU).  The advantages is that many of customers already know the producers SKU and we would then also be able to use the producers SKU in purchase orders genereated by Magento. The advantage to also be able to use own SKU, would be to have a more homogenous SKU system.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

I think that would be a custom attribute, fortunately it is easy to add and manage these in Magento wink

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
LorenzoG
Member
 
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2007-09-02
 

I know smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kris
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2007-09-30
NZ
 

Just dreaming along....  the vendorSKU could then be used to look up additional attributes from an external source to minimise errors as well as copy & paste efforts. A source could for example be the manufactures database made available via an API or GS1’s GDSN (Global Data Synchronisation Network) - the people behind barcodes.

The mapping of the looked-up attributes should probably be able to use presets per manufacturer and utilise the power of the Dataflow concept. The synchronisation could then be scheduled daily similar to the lookup of exchange rates.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
linco
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2009-06-19
 

Do you know if there’s any good extension for Vendor Notification and Vendor Control Panal, where different vendors can login and see their orders detail ... (OPL Preffered)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
outdoorliving
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2010-08-30
 

I have a question.

We have different sku’s from the vendor. And our product names are different as well from the vendor. So do I just add the vendor sku number to the backend? so that the manufacturer knows what product they need to ship out?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top