Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
Default Category layout: change to 2-column? 
 
beau
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  50
Joined:  2008-02-03
 

How/where can I modify the default layout for the catalog? All categories everywhere, to 2-column with right bar?

I’m using Magento 1.13, and I found where there’s a fix in 1.14 to make unique design changes affect entire sections, but I want to alter the default.

Any help? Thanks!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

hey beau,

have a look in the catalog.xml file. This can be found in the design\layout folder

You can define what template is used for all pages

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
beau
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  50
Joined:  2008-02-03
 

Thanks for your help. I went through catalog.xml and deleted all blocks marked “left”, but the newsletter box is still loading on that side, even though it’s also appearing on the right.

I checked the CMS block and there’s no way to indicate that it should be in either column, so it’s showing up some other way.

Any ideas?
http://www.mctwinklinsonline.com/index.php/winter-spring-summer-fall-christmas-halloween/spring

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
nikefido
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  481
Joined:  2008-07-11
New Haven, CT
 

One thing you can do is change all of your categories (indivisually) to 2 column left (admin > catalog > manage categories > (cilck on a category) > Custom Design (Page layout drop down)

Also, don’t edit the default design! You can overwrite it with your own easily. (IDK if you are doing that, just wanted to point that out).

However, the best way to do this is to not edit catalog.xml, but page.xml

under <default> , edit the first block you see there:
<block type="page/html" name="root" output="toHtml" template="page/3columns.phtml">

to

<block type="page/html" name="root" output="toHtml" template="page/2columns-right.phtml">

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
beau
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  50
Joined:  2008-02-03
 

Thank you so much. That did the trick. I didn’t want to have to edit every category because there’s quite a few of them, and then I’d also have to remember this with every new category, which made no sense this the two-column design is going to BE the default.

Thanks very much!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
furqan
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-05-27
 

Thank you so much “nikefido”. You reply really helpful.
Thanks again.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Pradnya
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2009-05-20
 

Thanks nikefido,This saved me a lot of time smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
idaib
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  17
Joined:  2009-11-19
 

hello, nikefido
i want to make my magento store pages layout to 2columns-left bar except home page as default layout.i try to change page.xml but nothing happened i m using 1.4.3 version of magento.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
internet-marketing
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2010-01-27
Montreal, Canada
 

@idaib

You have to flush magento’s cache (system > cache management in admin)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
KWAVE
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  53
Joined:  2009-04-04
Boston
 

Thanks nikefido worked great.

Although there really needs to be a solution for this in newer Magento version as well as for customers using 1.3.2+

Magento Design Development

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Bruno Morejon
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  83
Joined:  2009-06-05
 

Thanks nikefido!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Alan Whitelaw
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2010-05-28
 

Thanks nikefido, your advise about not editing the default theme was also a good pointer!

Alan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
François Bury
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2010-06-22
 

Thanks Nikefido !

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
alexweb99
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2010-10-29
 

Thanks kdecom-magento, your answer helped

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
PatrickTT
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2010-10-14
 

nikefido, that doesn’t actually work for me… I have tried flushing the cache, but every time it is still 2 col with right bar. I would like it to be 2 col with left bar.

I copied page.xml into app/design/frontend/default/mytheme/page.xml and have also tried updating the base page.xml but neither seems to make a difference? Any clues as to what I might be doing wrong?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ceefour
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  52
Joined:  2008-09-16
Bandung, Indonesia
 
PatrickTT - 25 November 2010 12:29 PM

nikefido, that doesn’t actually work for me… I have tried flushing the cache, but every time it is still 2 col with right bar. I would like it to be 2 col with left bar.

I copied page.xml into app/design/frontend/default/mytheme/page.xml and have also tried updating the base page.xml but neither seems to make a difference? Any clues as to what I might be doing wrong?

Add this inside < default > in your theme’s layout/catalog.xml :

<update handle="page_two_columns_left" />
        <
reference name="root">
            <
action method="setTemplate"><template>page/2columns-left.phtml</template></action>
        </
reference>

Don’t forget to flush caches.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2