Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How do I update the software? 
 
achimace
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2008-09-04
 

Hi all,

i know this is a simple, stupid question, but i didnt find a solution.
I want to update via the Connect Manager, but is there also an Extension Key available? How is the update-mechanism working?

Cu
achim

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
fuzzbuzz
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2008-06-27
 

I’d like to know that too

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
JLHC
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1287
Joined:  2008-05-09
Tampa, FL
 

Key in “Mage_All_Latest” in your Magento Connect Manager and click “Install”. wink

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Kerry Hatcher
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  96
Joined:  2008-07-15
Macon, GA
 

I just hit “check for updates” and then any thing installed with an update available will have the update in the drop down menu next to it.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
JLHC
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1287
Joined:  2008-05-09
Tampa, FL
 
Kerry Hatcher - 04 September 2008 04:00 AM

I just hit “check for updates” and then any thing installed with an update available will have the update in the drop down menu next to it.

This is because you have upgraded using Magento Connect Manager before, am I right? wink

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hodgejr
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-08-18
 

I’m bumping this up, since my post has gone ignored - I installed via magento connect as explained, but midway through installation got an “Internal Server Error”, any idea how to fix this?  :(

I’m having a string of bad luck with magento, if I can’t figure out how to get the site running again this will be my 4th clean re-install.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
JLHC
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1287
Joined:  2008-05-09
Tampa, FL
 

@ Hodgejr: If you got an “Internal Server Error”, have you tried changing the file permissions back to what it was before? Magento Connect Manager is known to revert the CHMOD back to the default values, which I believes is 666 for files. Make sure you have 644/755 for index.php.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hodgejr
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-08-18
 

My files are configured to 644, and folders are 755.  Is this correct?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
JLHC
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1287
Joined:  2008-05-09
Tampa, FL
 
Hodgejr - 04 September 2008 05:48 AM

My files are configured to 644, and folders are 755.  Is this correct?

Yes, it should be correct. Does it solve the issue? Also, does the server has suphp/suexec enabled?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hodgejr
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-08-18
 
JLHC - 04 September 2008 05:52 AM

Hodgejr - 04 September 2008 05:48 AM
My files are configured to 644, and folders are 755.  Is this correct?

Yes, it should be correct. Does it solve the issue? Also, does the server has suphp/suexec enabled?

No, still getting error.  I’m in contact with my host now to see if there’s anything they can do (doubt it). 

I don’t know what suphhp/suexec is, sorry.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
fuzzbuzz
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2008-06-27
 

I too am still having trouble:

I am trying to update magento to 1.1.4. from 1.1.1

At present i go from admin to ADMIN CONNECT MANAGER which appears ok. On settings i have clicked stable.
When i click Search for modules via Magento Connect i get taken to the extensions page, but where do i see 1.1.4?

I cant see it for the life of me?

I tried putting MAGE_ALL_LATEST in the extension key, but it says something is invalid. Please please can i get some help.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Fuzz

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Kerry Hatcher
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  96
Joined:  2008-07-15
Macon, GA
 

This might help you show what is going on:

http://www.jingproject.com/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
fuzzbuzz
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2008-06-27
 

Hi,

Thats good software.

I should have attached a screen shot. Please see the attached one.

Thanks

Image Attachments
mag-install.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
fuzzbuzz
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2008-06-27
 

Oh i got it now -

Had to do enter: magento-core/Mage_All_Latest

Thanks anyway.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top