Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Using Category navigation bar AND a Vertical Category navigation bar {SOLVED}

ben_h

Total Posts:  3

Hi there, Magento noob here, my first post

I have a question regarding having 2 separate category navigation bars.  The horizontal bar at the top of the page is the default.  And I have been following another thread with interest which talks about solutions for using a vertical navigation bar.

My question is : is it possible to have one set of categories in the horizontal bar - and - another set of categories in the vertical bar ?  So yes that is two different sets of categories.

I have one set of categories sitting under “default category” which appear nicely in the horizontal bar.  Is it possible to have another “parent category” like “default category” to store another set of categories - and if so, how would I access/display those categories and attach products to them.

Why am I asking this question ?  I am setting up a toy shop - I would to like to see age group categories across the top and product type categories down the side.  And I would like to see both sets of categories appear on every page including the home page.

I have been experimenting with product attributes, which work nicely, but of course these only appear in the layered navigation once you have clicked on a category.  Or is it possible to have product attributes (for all products) appearing on the home page ?  (although I realise that it is category/product driven)