Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Magento Install Step by Step Tutorials
 
Adithya
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2011-01-02
 

I have this installation problem. When I go to the http://www.domain.com/magento/ it goes to the downloader for the latest update.

After I installed it says continue installation, but I just end up at the same page?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jobs centre
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2011-01-09
 

Can you please make sure that you have pdo_mysql php extention installed ? Could you post a link to your phpinfo.php ?
I will follow step by step this article

Thank you.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
wolvax
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2011-01-13
 

It would be beneficial to have a Linux virtual machine created with Magento pre-installed and working.  I spend a couple of hours setting up the OS environment and installing PHP and Magento.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sathyashrayan
Member
 
Total Posts:  39
Joined:  2009-03-19
Chennai
 

Any one tried to install “ver 1.5.0.1 - Added February 9, 2011”?? I get the error during the installation. Please have a look at the attached file.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
autotronics
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2011-02-23
 
sathyashrayan - 19 February 2011 05:17 PM

Any one tried to install “ver 1.5.0.1 - Added February 9, 2011”?? I get the error during the installation. Please have a look at the attached file.

I too have downloaded version 1.5.0.1 and it won’t install.
I followed the guide but when I go to http://www.mydomain.com/magento
then it just says ‘No input file specified. ‘

Please help.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sathyashrayan
Member
 
Total Posts:  39
Joined:  2009-03-19
Chennai
 
sathyashrayan - 19 February 2011 05:17 PM

Any one tried to install “ver 1.5.0.1 - Added February 9, 2011”?? I get the error during the installation. Please have a look at the attached file.

Sorry.. I forgot to attach the file.

Image Attachments
magento.png
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unknownmx
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2011-04-22
 
ivax23 - 14 June 2008 04:28 AM

Another installation tutorial in spanish:

http://www.elblogdemagento.com/como-instalar-magento/

Just what I was looking for, many thanks ivax23 you are the man wink

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sathyashrayan
Member
 
Total Posts:  39
Joined:  2009-03-19
Chennai
 

My installation problem has got solved with this link

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/228000/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Lee_UK
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2011-05-15
 
sathyashrayan - 06 May 2011 05:39 PM

My installation problem has got solved with this link

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/228000/

Thank you, clearing the cache manually worked for me too!

Lee Roper

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
magentobmc
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2011-07-17
 

After trying to install Magento Community on my Mac running MAMP I’ve finally got everything up and running.

My first problem was the BASE URL. Magento requires a fully qualified Base Url to install but if your running MAMP you don’t have a fully qualified URL. You probably have something like this: “http://localhost:8888/magento”. I tried a lot of different things and even found a Javascript hack where you remove the validation for the Base URL. The solution I used was to replace “localhost” in my URL with my IP address. So instead of this “http://localhost:8888/magento” I used “http://my.ip.add.ress:8888/magento” and it worked. NOTICE: replace “my.ip.add.ress” with whatever your IP address happens to be. If you don’t have an IP address, the Javascript hack will probably work.

My next problem was when I got to the “create an admin account” page. I entered all of my information clicked “continue” and ... nothing. Nothing happened. I’m like WTF!? So I clicked again and again. I did some searching around. It turns out that there is a problem with the version of PHP that I’m running on MAMP. Specifically PHP version 5.3. So I went to the little MAMP control panel window that shows you your Apache and MySQL status, clicked on Preferences and then PHP and changed the version of PHP to 5.2. I tried my Magento install again and everything worked great.

I hope this helps future developers that want to install Magento on their local machine.

Good luck.

Here’s the Javascript hack that I found.

go to JS/prototype/validation.js

and search for this

[\’validate-url\’, \’Please enter a valid URL. Protocol is required (http://, https:// or ftp://)\’, function (v) {
return Validation.get(\’IsEmpty\’).test(v) || /^(http|https|ftp):\\/\\/(([A-Z0-9][A-Z0-9_-]*)(\\.[A-Z0-9][A-Z0-9_-]*)+)(:(\\d+))?\\/?/i.test(v) }],

Just Replace with

[\’validate-url\’, \’Please enter a valid URL. Protocol is required (http://, https:// or ftp://)\’, function (v) {
return true; }],

Basically you just need to comment out the validation crap and add below it a “return true”;

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
magentobmc
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2011-07-17
 

Somehow I posted this twice. Sorry for the duplicate.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Jeyhun
Member
 
Total Posts:  38
Joined:  2010-02-20
 

Hi, all

I know how painful Magento upgrades are, so I am posting something that worked for me upgrading from v 1.5.0.1 stable to 1.6.0.0 stable both without sample data. Some errors did occur (posted below).

SYSTEM INFORMATION
Hosting:  Godaddy Shared;
Server:  Apache/1.3.33
Server API:  CGI/FastCGI (I have disabled fastCGI for “Duplicate Header” issues)
PHP Version:  5.2.14
Zend Optimizer/-TS/Level:  3.3.3/3.3.3/15
php5.ini Non-Production! Settings :
register_globals = On | allow_url_fopen = On | register_long_arrays = On | output_buffering = On | max_input_time = 600 | upload_max_filesize = 104857600 | post_max_size = 104857600 | variables_order = “EGPCS” | rg_emulation = Off | short_open_tag = 0 | zlib.output_compression = Off | cgi.rfc2616_headers = 0 | memory_limit = 3221225472 | max_execution_time = 3600; | realpath_cache_size = 104857600 | magic_quotes_gpc = Off | session.auto_start = Off | suhosin.session.cryptua = Off | SecFilterEngine = Off | SecFilterScanPOST = Off | zend.ze1_compatibility_mode = Off | soap.wsdl_cache_enabled = 0 | soap.wsdl_cache_ttl = 0 | log_errors = On | ignore_repeated_errors = Off | ignore_repeated_source = Off | report_memleaks = On | track_errors = On | cgi.fix_pathinfo = 1
Store Settings: original version 1.5.0.1 without sample data | multi-website, single-store, multi-store-view | all caches disabled including external | exception.log and system.log are enabled | extensions are present, including resource-dependent | categories and products are present | custom attributes and attribute sets are present

UPGRADE STEPS
NB Sequence below is important!

01) Backup current database via Godaddy Control Center >> MySQL, phpMyAdmin or shell using mysql command if you have mysql.sock access.
02) Create a new database via Godaddy Control Center >> MySQL, phpMyAdmin or shell.
03) Restore the backup database to the newly-created via shell using mysql command if you have mysql.sock access. For Godaddy account holders, just restore new database in phpMyAdmin to the backup database from step 01. To do this, you should choose the backup database name in Hosting Control Center >> MySQL >> Edit/View Details for new database >> Restore.
04) Rename .htaccess to .htaccessSOMETEXT to restore right after installation - the original is going to be overwritten.
05) Create site backup via shell and place above the current directory (e.g., /USER/PATH/xBackup-X.X.X.X). GoDaddy also stores up to 30-night backups in /home/content/.snapshot/YOURUSERPATH
06) Make sure .htaccess is not re-created in the backup directory for restore purposes.
07) Delete stats folder in the backup site folder.
08) (!) Modify html/app/etc/local.xml to point to the new database.
09) Make sure mage file in the current site folder is readable and executable.
10) Run the following commands in shell:

rm -rf var/cache/* var/session/*
    ./mage mage-setup .
    ./mage config-set preferred_state stable
    ./mage list-installed
    ./mage list-upgrades
11) Replace #MAGE_PHP_BIN="php” with MAGE_PHP_BIN="/usr/local/php5/bin/php” (or, YOURPATH/TO/php5 binary) in mage file.
12) Run command
./mage install http://connect20.magentocommerce.com/community Mage_All_Latest --force
in shell.
13) Rename .htaccessSOMETEXT from step 04 to .htaccess
14) Run file access permission commands in shell as follows:
chmod 755 php5.ini mage install.php get.php index.php cron.sh cron.php
    chmod 772 
var/log/*
    chmod 770 var/report/
(Please check postings for other folders or more correct access levels).
15) Empty (DO NOT DELETE!) table core_url_rewrite in the NEW database via phpMyAdmin.
16) Run database reindex command
/cgi-bin/php5 -f shell/indexer.php reindexall
in shell. If getting “Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING, expecting T_OLD_FUNCTION or T_FUNCTION or T_VAR ‘}” error executing php code, use correct PATH in the following command: 
YOURPATH/TO/php5 -f shell/indexer.php reindexall
17) If getting table errors related to reindexing or notice no re-write in category and product urls in browser, repeat steps 15-16.
18) Check site integrity and extension functioning.
19) Check logs in var/report and var/log for errors after browsing the site.
20) Update extensions via MagentoConnect or shell if needed.

ERRORS REPORTED
01) SQLSTATE[23000]: Integrity constraint violation: 1062 Duplicate entry ‘9-General’ for key 2. 
Solved by deleting attribute_group_name “General” with attribute_set_id “9” in eav_attribute_group table. The key is related to a custom attribute set and it was auto-recreated later.
02) Column “privileges” does not exists on table “api_rule”. 
Solved by re-submitting the url when browsing. On checking the database, column “privileges” does not exist - empty “api_privileges” is there instead. At least one other unrelated installation had this issue so far.

SOME ISSUES
01) API SOAP v2 retrieves operation list only when the newly-added WS-I compliance is activated in a third-party client. Have not been able to log in yet with or without WS-I compliance. No such issue with v. 1.5.0.1.
02) Browser access to FULLDOMAINPATH/api/xmlrpc or FULLDOMAINPATH/index.php/api/xmlrpc returns code 630, “Unable to read request” ...

Hope this helps!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ajajajl
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2011-09-20
 

hey i just joined and i found this guide very helpful thanks but i still have questions i will post them later when ive reviewed everything

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brynaren
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2011-10-08
 

Hi guys!

This installation didn´t work as easy as I expected. I checked for my PHP, it was 5.3, and all other things looked OK to.

When importing to MySQL I get:
#1005 - Can’t create table ‘./xxxxx_com/catalog_product_link.frm’ (errno: 150)

And when trying to install without that table I get:

There has been an error processing your request
Error log record number: 203009222586

I can´t even find the search function in this forum to find any trouble help.
Anyone with a solution for my errors? Any help is much appreciated.

Ira.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
metaburn
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2011-10-10
 

did you download the full installation files? I think your mysql file must be corrupted or if you are importing it through php my admin interface, it may not be importing full file but parts and missing something.

http://trymetaburn.com/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top