Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 2 of 16
Magento Install Step by Step Tutorials
 
mr_magento
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2008-03-27
 

We are planning on installing Magento on our dedicated server.

Can Magento run on a Red Hat Enterprise 5 platform, using the normal packages that are supported there? Can it also run in a 64-bit environment?

We have PhP 5.1.0 in our hosting environment. Do we have to upgrade to 5.2.0?

I have read a lot of posts regarding performance issues - yes, we are aware that Magento is working on those, and has continued to make things faster. That said, must we absolutely have APC as a bytecode cache, or is that optional?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brightwork
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2008-03-18
 
Crucial - 20 November 2007 08:58 PM

By the way, what would you recommend for doing screencasts, as this sounds like a much better idea for installation tutorials and other examples.

Adobe Captivate is another really good screencast solution; although, it’s pricey.  Has lots of features.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sherrie
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1655
Joined:  2007-12-14
Waterloo, ON
 
Reno SEO - 15 February 2008 09:47 PM

I’ve written this article (step-by-step), since the other Dreamhost one seems to be dead:
Installing Magento on Dreamhost

-Nick

Nick,

Do you have the new file structure for steps 7 & 8? I can’t seem to find them and it wont work with what you have.  I can run mage-setup but all of the installs give me an error saying the packages are not valid and then the install fails.

Also the path to the Magento package, for anyone who needs it, is now: http://www.magentocommerce.com/downloads/assets/1.0/magento-1.0.zip

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Discovery
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  767
Joined:  2007-12-29
 

Installing 1.0 and Sample Data with a host you can actually login to.

A Quick Guide from a UK fan of Magento

If you are serious about Magento it is worth getting a ‘proper host’, whether that be a virtual server or a dedicated one. This means you do not have to learn someone else’s control panel or suffer the indignity of only having one database for all your projects.

To install with the sample data I created a new database with phpmyadmin. From the main phpmyadmin screen I added a new user with a new user name. I put a tick in the box to create a database for this user, and clicked ‘go’.

I then downloaded the sample data using a ‘wget’ command. This saved me downloading to my PC and then FTP-ing to the server but did require some prodding around the Magento site to get the URL.

I then loaded the sql script for the sample data into the database, using the ‘import’ tab in phpmyadmin.

Then I downloaded the Magento installer, unpacked it and changed the Magento install directory from ‘magento’ to ‘shop’. This is because I want to use a weblog front end with a link from that page to the actual shop. My reason for this is that I am building a B2B site. At a later date I might add a new URL that goes straight to the store for a consumer showcase - but I am not there yet!

After unpacking the installer I moved the sample data media folder across to the shop/media directory, then ran a chown -R on the shop directory to get the permissions working with apache.

Next, I pointed my browser at the shop URL to start the install.

For the localisation settings I set the locale to UK and the timezone to GMT. I did not change the currency from ‘dollar’ as this led to problems in the preview edition, and I know that I can change this once everything is installed.

I put the db setting to that of my newly created user, i.e. with the user and database name the same. I did not add a tables prefix as this is a new db just for Magento (my weblog is in another database).

Having a certificate for my server and experience of https working with re-writes I put in the ‘use rewrites’ and ‘use secure URL’s’ options. I did not put the admin in SSL mode, although I may change this later when things are up and running. It is best practice to run admin in secure - but I am not there yet!

I gave a email address outside the server for the admin settings and made the login name different to ‘admin’. The reason for the ‘out the box’ email address is that I want to see if Magento works with my Postfix MTA.

After clicking next and saving the key to an offline text file I was set to go.

To get to the shop I held the ctrl key and clicked on ‘go to frontend’. This opened the front end in a new tab, and much to my pleasant surprise the frontend opened with sample products!

Then I went to my install tab and selected the backend. I went to the currency tab and set my currency preferences - base and default currencies being GBP and the update service on.

I refreshed my front-end and opened up a product. The prices were all in pounds. Result!

The new look backend looks very good, and the above steps got my install up and running with the correct locale settings and currency, complete with the sample products. Even if you document what you are doing then you should be up and running in an hour (subject to linux command line knowledge).

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
maxx
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2008-04-03
 

where is zip to down load for installing of php4?....i click on page there nothing there....

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
KonstantinDK
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2008-04-04
Arlington, TX, USA
 

This thread describes how to check if your server have all of extensions for magento
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/4763/

I’ve seen somewhere another thread with full check. But can’t find it now

Added
Found it.
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/5953/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Blowfish
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2008-04-23
 

Like Maxx and others, I am wondering what happened to the PHP4 installation guide.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cstead
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2008-04-21
 

Google cache still has a copy of the php4 install guide here

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
velocis
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-04-22
 

What happened to the tutorial for installing magento on slicehost w/ ubuntu? it just redirects to the main install guide which isn’t helping.

THIS IS SO FRUSTRATING

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tagnu
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2008-04-18
 
cstead - 23 April 2008 11:39 AM

Google cache still has a copy of the php4 install guide here

What happened to the PHP 4 version installation guide? is it officially taken off from the site?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Crucial Web Host
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  364
Joined:  2007-11-08
Phoenix, AZ
 

Hello,

tagnu - 24 April 2008 04:46 AM

What happened to the PHP 4 version installation guide? is it officially taken off from the site?

This information may be useful to you.

PHP.net -

The PHP development team would like to announce the immediate availability of PHP 4.4.8. It continues to improve the security and the stability of the 4.4 branch and all users are strongly encouraged to upgrade to it as soon as possible. This release wraps up all the outstanding patches for the PHP 4.4 series, and is therefore the last normal PHP 4.4 release. If necessary, releases to address security issues could be made until 2008-08-08.

http://www.php.net/archive/2008.php#2008-01-03-1

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jaskarn
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-05-16
Auckland, New Zealand
 

Hi,
I am installing on a php 4 server with php 5 in the cgi bin. everything is working fine but when i attempted to install magneto after clicking continue on the db setup page i got this error.

Error in file: “/home/pjdhatt/public_html/dgtech/store/app/code/core/Mage/Customer/sql/customer_setup/mysql4-install-0.8.0.php” - Wrong entity ID
Trace:
#0 /home/pjdhatt/public_html/dgtech/store/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Resource/Setup.php(278): Mage::exception(’Mage_Core’, ‘Error in file: ...’)
#1 /home/pjdhatt/public_html/dgtech/store/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Resource/Setup.php(158): Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Setup->_modifyResourceDb(’install’, ‘’, ‘0.8.3’)
#2 /home/pjdhatt/public_html/dgtech/store/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Resource/Setup.php(144): Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Setup->_installResourceDb(’0.8.3’)
#3 /home/pjdhatt/public_html/dgtech/store/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Resource/Setup.php(111): Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Setup->applyUpdates()
#4 /home/pjdhatt/public_html/dgtech/store/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Config.php(195): Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Setup::applyAllUpdates()
#5 /home/pjdhatt/public_html/dgtech/store/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/App.php(208): Mage_Core_Model_Config->init(Array)
#6 /home/pjdhatt/public_html/dgtech/store/app/Mage.php(404): Mage_Core_Model_App->init(’’, ‘store’, Array)
#7 /home/pjdhatt/public_html/dgtech/store/app/Mage.php(423): Mage::app(’’, ‘store’, Array)
#8 /home/pjdhatt/public_html/dgtech/store/index.php(40): Mage::run()
#9 {main}

and i keep getting it if i go to my magneto directory.

please help

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

@jaskarn: please post version of your mysql server. you could run this query to get it:

show variables like 'version';
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jaskarn
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-05-16
Auckland, New Zealand
 

Hi Moshe,
I went to phpMyAdmin through cPanel and it showed the following

localhost

* Server version: 4.0.27-standard
* Protocol version: 10
* Server: Localhost via UNIX socket
* User: pjdhatt@localhost

phpMyAdmin - 2.11.0

* MySQL client version: 4.1.22
* Used PHP extensions: mysql

I am installing Magento by putting a php5-cgi file in my cgi bin and changing the .htaccess file to use php5 server as it says on the installation page for php4 users.

This is my .htaccess file:

############################################
## uncomment these lines for CGI mode
## make sure to specify the correct cgi php binary file name
## it might be /cgi-bin/php-cgi

Action php5-cgi /cgi-bin/php5-cgi
AddHandler php5-cgi .php
php_flag cgi.fix_pathinfo on

############################################
## this line is specific for 1and1 hosting

#AddType x-mapp-php5 .php
#AddHandler x-mapp-php5 .php

############################################
## default index file

DirectoryIndex index.php

<IfModule mod_php5.c>

############################################
## adjust memory limit

php_value memory_limit 64M
php_value max_execution_time 18000

############################################
## disable magic quotes for php request vars

php_flag magic_quotes_gpc off

############################################
## enable resulting html compression

#php_flag zlib.output_compression on

</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_deflate.c>

############################################
## enable apache served files compression
## http://developer.yahoo.com/performance/rules.html#gzip

# Insert filter
#SetOutputFilter DEFLATE

# Netscape 4.x has some problems…
#BrowserMatch ^Mozilla/4 gzip-only-text/html

# Netscape 4.06-4.08 have some more problems
#BrowserMatch ^Mozilla/4\.0[678] no-gzip

# MSIE masquerades as Netscape, but it is fine
#BrowserMatch \bMSIE !no-gzip !gzip-only-text/html
# Don’t compress images
#SetEnvIfNoCase Request_URI \.(?:gif|jpe?g|png)$ no-gzip dont-vary

# Make sure proxies don’t deliver the wrong content
#Header append Vary User-Agent env=!dont-vary

</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_ssl.c>

############################################
## make HTTPS env vars available for CGI mode

SSLOptions StdEnvVars

</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>

############################################
## enable rewrites

Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine on

############################################
## you can put here your magento root folder
## path relative to web root

#RewriteBase /magento/

############################################
## workaround for HTTP authorization
## in CGI environment

RewriteRule .* - [E=HTTP_AUTHORIZATION:%{HTTP:Authorization}]

############################################
## always send 404 on missing files in these folders

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^/(media|skin|js)/

############################################
## never rewrite for existing files, directories and links

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-l

############################################
## rewrite everything else to index.php

RewriteRule .* index.php [L]

</IfModule>

############################################
## Prevent character encoding issues from server overrides
## If you still have problems, use the second line instead

AddDefaultCharset Off
#AddDefaultCharset UTF-8

<IfModule mod_expires.c>

############################################
## Add default Expires header
## http://developer.yahoo.com/performance/rules.html#expires

ExpiresDefault “access plus 1 year”

</IfModule>

############################################
## By default allow all access

Order allow,deny
Allow from all

############################################
## If running in cluster environment, uncomment this
## http://developer.yahoo.com/performance/rules.html#etags

#FileETag none

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jaskarn
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-05-16
Auckland, New Zealand
 

Hi,
In cPanel i found out the followingL

PHP version 4.4.2
MySQL version 4.0.27-standard

MySQL is outdated which is probably why magento wont work. I will request my host to upgrade but is there a workaround this.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 2 of 16