Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Custom CC Payment Module Issue in 1.4.0.1

Online Stuff

Total Posts:  4
Centurion, South Africa

Hi friends,

I have a store running in 1.3.2.4, without any issues.  I have spent the past week or so trying to upgrade it to 1.4.0.1, and ran in to a lot of problems and incompatibilities, all of which I solved, except for my custom credit card payment module.  Please understand that I am not an experienced programmer, I know my way around Magento now, but I am by no means an expert.

I have tracked the problem down to the saving of the “info” object in the validate() function in the Model.  This is the old code from 1.3.2.4 that works OK:

public function validate()

{
        parent
::validate();

$info $this->getInfoInstance();

$errorMsg false;

$session $this->getCheckout();

$session->setInfoInstance($info);
        return 
$this;

}

Running this code in 1.4.0.1, it breaks quite spectacularly, completely corrupting the session cookie (or at least that is what I think).  In var/report/ the following report is generated:

a:5:{i:0;s:200:"Warning: session_start() [<a href='function.session-start'>function.session-start</a>]: Node no longer exists  in /var/www/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Session/Abstract/Varien.php on line 115";i:1;s:1852:"#0 [internal function]: mageCoreErrorHandler(2, 'session_start()...', '/var/www/magent...', 115, Array)
#1 /var/www/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Session/Abstract/Varien.php(115): session_start()