Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

I created a module that changes the product image when the user changes an option

dagobert renouf

Total Posts:  26

Hello everyone,
After a while coming here to get something, I will give something.

This module is not even a module, I’m a bad developer, it just works without being heavy (40lines of code) but I’m sure it can be greatly improved. Major “issues” are that it runs using jquery (which is an additional js lib, increase loading times) and that the code is directly in the “catalog/product/view/option.phtml” file, I didn’t try to separate it clearly because I don’t want to waste my time for now.

So here’s how it works :

1 - To associate an image with a specific option, the admin just need to “label” the image properly following this convention : $option_name + “__” + $option_value (for example : “color__blue” will be associated with the blue option of the color dropdown)

2 - the options.phtml file will check the product options to see if there is any dropdown to process. If this is the case it will foreach dropdown option check the images of the product to see if there is an image associated to the option (with the label created earlier).

3 - the javascript is created only if options are associated with image, and when the user select an option THAT IS associated with an image, the product #image change (jquery updates the src attribute). If the option is not associated with any image, than it just do nothing,.