Magento Forum

No success in importing
 
Chris Williams
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-09-02
Dallas, TX
 

Does this import function add items to the catalog or just modify the existing one?  If it is supposed to allow new items to bee added, am I supposed assign a value to entity_id or is that auto-assigned?  Either way, I get this error each time I try.

Starting profile executionplease wait...
Starting Varien_Convert_Adapter_Io :: load
Loaded successfully
: /Library/WebServer/Documents/items.csv [5062785 byte(s)]
Starting Varien_Convert_Parser_Csv 
:: parse
Starting Varien_Convert_Mapper_Column 
:: map
Starting Mage_Catalog_Model_Convert_Parser_Product 
:: parse
Missing SKU
skipping the record (Line1)
Starting Mage_Catalog_Model_Convert_Adapter_Product :: save
No product collections found
Finished profile execution
.
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

SKU is required.

If SKU already exists in database it will update the product.
If it is a new SKU, it will create a new product.

entity_id is required only in cases when SKU is being updated, so it will know that operation is performed on existing product.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Chris Williams
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-09-02
Dallas, TX
 

Is there a list of required fields to include?  I’m still getting an error and would like to try the minimum fields needed.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sofasoft
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2007-11-11
 

Got a solution for import ?

I’m not getting any error during import but seems the products does not show up in the Admin / Catalog / Manage Products.
The products are showing up on the front end also in category and search correctly - name, sku, price etc. - but not in the backend.

If I edit another product and change directly in the URL
admin/catalog_product/edit/id/DEMO_ID/store/0/ with admin/catalog_product/edit/id/IMPORT_ID/store/0/
then it shows up BUT just the SKU info is loaded nothing else.

What’s wrong ? Any ideea ?

The cvs have the header row exactly the same names as the field mappings from magento.

My wizard XML file is:

<action type="varien/convert_adapter_http" method="load">
</
action><action type="varien/convert_parser_csv" method="parse">
    <var 
name="delimiter"><![CDATA[,]]></var>
    <var 
name="enclose"><![CDATA["]]></var>
    <var name="
fieldnames">true</var>
</action>

<action type="
varien/convert_mapper_column" method="map">
    <var name="
store"><![CDATA[store]]></var>
    <var name="
attribute_set"><![CDATA[attribute_set]]></var>
    <var name="
type"><![CDATA[type]]></var>
    <var name="
name"><![CDATA[name]]></var>
    <var name="
description"><![CDATA[description]]></var>
    <var name="
short_description"><![CDATA[short_description]]></var>
    <var name="
qty"><![CDATA[qty]]></var>
    <var name="
status"><![CDATA[status]]></var>
    <var name="
default_category_id"><![CDATA[default_category_id]]></var>
    <var name="
tax_class_id"><![CDATA[tax_class_id]]></var>
    <var name="
visibility"><![CDATA[visibility]]></var>
    <var name="
price"><![CDATA[price]]></var>
    <var name="
bcs_manufacturer"><![CDATA[bcs_manufacturer]]></var>
    <var name="
sku"><![CDATA[sku]]></var>
</action>

<action type="
catalog/convert_parser_product" method="parse">
    <var name="
store"><![CDATA[0]]></var>
</action>

<action type="
catalog/convert_adapter_product" method="save">
    <var name="
store"><![CDATA[0]]></var>
</action>
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
seldon
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  92
Joined:  2007-11-08
 

I seem to have a similar problem. I imported a product, but it doesnt show up in the backend.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sofasoft
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2007-11-11
 

Why seems to be so hard to get a list of the required fields ?
We all out there try to play around to see which are the fields which must be there to be able to have a correct import.

Let’s try to add one more column and try to see if it’s working ....
oh .. does not work - let’s see which other columns we should add ....

:-((

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
seldon
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  92
Joined:  2007-11-08
 

nevermind :D

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Chris Williams
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-09-02
Dallas, TX
 

Just in attempts to keep it as simple as possible I’m testing bare bones with only a few sample records.  This ends up being my XML output.

But when I run the test file, the error giving is “No product collections found”

<action type="varien/convert_adapter_http" method="load">
</
action><action type="varien/convert_parser_csv" method="parse">
    <var 
name="delimiter"><![CDATA[,]]></var>
    <var 
name="enclose"><![CDATA["]]></var>
    <var name="
fieldnames">true</var>
</action>

<action type="
varien/convert_mapper_column" method="map">
    <var name="
sku"><![CDATA[sku]]></var>
    <var name="
name"><![CDATA[name]]></var>
</action>

<action type="
catalog/convert_parser_product" method="parse">
    <var name="
store"><![CDATA[1]]></var>
</action>

<action type="
catalog/convert_adapter_product" method="save">
    <var name="
store"><![CDATA[1]]></var>
</action>

I’m really stumped at what I’m doing wrong.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sofasoft
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2007-11-11
 

Could we get some points from Magento DataFlow team ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Chris Williams
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-09-02
Dallas, TX
 

It looks like there has been an update to Magento.  Has anyone gotten product imports to work?  Maybe with an example of what was done?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Chris Williams
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-09-02
Dallas, TX
 

Hey Ron,

Here’s what I have been able to figure out (as best as I can tell that is): CSV files can only have quotes around values when enclosing those with commas.

For example, this is good.  This worked

default,Default,Simple Product,1000000002,Enabled,Taxable Goods,"Catalog, Search"

However, this doesn’t.

"default","Default","Simple Product","1000000002","Enabled","Taxable Goods","Catalog, Search"

See the difference?

And in my case, since I use FMP as a bridge between out legacy retail software and the online store, everything is enclosed in quotes.  This was a long way around finding this out.  As far as I knew, the latter version shown was perfectly valid, and it imported without error in Magento, but none of the products were ever added.

I should be able to now import the rest of the thousands of products.  Wish me luck! grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top