Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 2 of 2
Manage Customers admin page extremely slow to load

bclark@dinovite.com

Total Posts:  17

I’m also having this problem. 

I recently loaded our old system’s contact list ~150k customer records.  The manage customer page has become abysmally slow (as I feared that it would).

I am a certified master level dba and have managed hundreds of web software dev projects. I see two mistakes:
1.  The magento data structure is a big cause of the problem.  The structure works well for the ability to add nearly infinite numbers of attributes but that flexibility comes at a price.
2.  You should never design a page to has to parse a potentially huge data set before it allows the page to be used.  The page should not preload data but give the user the option of searching on criteria (or leave it wide open if desired) and then upon hitting search, the query is run.

One (or more) indices may fix the problem but it may not given how far the data structure is pushed out of traditional normal forms.  I’m thinking right now of creating a view that runs against a table that is populated every few mins (hours) with a recombined dataset from the customer entity tables.  Kind of a “datamart” way of handling the data.  I would also be interested in not having the query run at load time but only on submit of the search button. 
I really don’t want to do this level of customization but I don’t see the problem being resolved in the short-term.

Comments… ??

Thanks,
bc

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

DDMAN

Total Posts:  179