Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Wishlist Modifications

designinside

Total Posts:  2

Hi everyone, I am new to Magento and am attempting to create a tool for my interior design company.  Basically I need to specify a bunch of products (and their prices) for my clients and present them to my client in some sort of report that can be printed out or put into a PDF.  I’ve searched high and low at CRM’s, Custom Tools, Wikis, Blogs, other eCommerce solutions, and I think Magento has just about everything I need to accomplish this AND tie it all into an order system.  Where I am running into a roadblock is figuring out a way to display these products in a logical manner to my customers.

My thought is to create a customer for each of my clients where they will have a Wishlist (or multiple wishlists for each room when that feature is available) of products, or maybe an order.  The requirements I have are:
1.) I would like some way to group the items by room (living room, dining room, foyer, etc.), this should be seperate from the normal categories
2.) I would also like a way to change the display order of the wishlist (e.g. display a lamp, the table the lamp goes on, then the rug), I am fine with having a custom attribute that I can type the number in and sort by that field (I just don’t know how to do that).