Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Patch for adding Username login to Magento 1.1.3. Please test! 
 
DraconPern
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-04-08
Texas, USA
 

I have written a patch to add Username login to Magento.  This patch must be applied after an install, but before any customer are added.  The one bug on this patch I can’t figure out is why I can’t apply the patch before the install (This may be a Windows php issue).  If other people can test it, it would be great. 

Features:
1) customer registration with a username
2) user can change username
3) admin customer display list shows/sorts username
4) customer login with username instead of email.

To apply:
1) unzip wow.zip to your magento directory (where favicon.ico is located), you’ll get a file called wow.patch
2) cd to the magento directory if you haven’t already done so
3) run the following command:  patch -p1 < wow.patch
4) add a column called ‘username’ in the ‘customer_entity’ table of type varchar(255), not null

Other info about this patch.
1) the upgrade sql php file hasn’t been tested.
2) there’s not an entry in the EAV table
3) data import/export hasn’t been tested.

Thanks!

-Eric

File Attachments
wow.zip  (File Size: 4KB - Downloads: 247)
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Vinai
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  218
Joined:  2008-04-04
Heidelberg, Germany
 

Why not make a module from it?
Otherwise it will break with updates of the core files.

Still, thanks for the code, I can use them as samples!

Vinai

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
DraconPern
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-04-08
Texas, USA
 

I haven’t figured out how to make a module yet.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
boogiedoll
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-10-07
 

Can you make one for version 1.3.2.2?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
smallsmartass
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  29
Joined:  2009-10-07
 

I’ve been playing with this trying to get it to work in 1.4.0.1 and I think I’m almost there. Customers are able to fill in a username field when they register. The form field is causing a problem though. Whenever I submit, I get an error back saying that “username is required”. It does this every time.

Any idea what’s up?

Btw, I’ve been using your patch file to create a local module so I nothing gets overwritten when I upgrade. When everything is working I’ll upload and post a zip file of the local module.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
smallsmartass
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  29
Joined:  2009-10-07
 

For some reason it doesn’t seem to be sending my form data along to the database.

I’ve attached a zip file of what I’m working with. Extract it to your app/code/local file and add the “username” field to the database and you’ll be where I’m stuck.

Anyone know why it wouldn’t be sending it to the db?

File Attachments
Customer.zip  (File Size: 21KB - Downloads: 136)
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jennywren
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2010-02-08
 

I’ve been messing around with this code all day and I still get the same error.  Have you had any luck?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
smallsmartass
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  29
Joined:  2009-10-07
 

I was able to get the error to go away using the code I attached in my post right before yours. The only problem I’m having now is that the username isn’t being saved in the database. I’ve been able to log the form data that’s being sent and it’s all there. Somewhere along the line it doesn’t get handed off correctly.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
supermureena
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2010-05-03
 

Still intrested about this ability. Is someone succeed at developing this or still trying?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top