Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 3
[Resolved] - flash player 10 caused the problem - Upload and browse images in Product admin broken, Can’t load admin from any browser other FireFox, 1
 
GFX Complex
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-11-19
St.Louis
 

The problem was due to the flash player 10 RC1.
This is unsettling since the flash player 10 is due to release any month now and when it does it will break all the magneto stores.

If I click on the browse files for upload images button in the product admin nothing happens, if I try to log in to the admin from any other browser I get redirected to the admin log in page with no error.

[rant]
I feel like I just downgraded to 1.1.3 from 1.1.2!

If I don’t see any solution to this in the next week I pulling down magneto and going back to zen cart.
version 0.1.3 is more like it.

[/rant]

But really guys what in the hell happened with 1.1.3?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
golles
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  257
Joined:  2008-01-15
 

Can you give us a bit more information:

What OS?
What version of php / mysql?
Shared or dedicated host?
When did you upgrade? from what version? (assume 1.1.2 to 1.1.3)?
How did you do the upgrade - ftp or connect?
Have you cleared the cache - if not via admin then manually via ftp?
Are you seeing error messages?
etc.

V1.1.3 is all OK for our sites.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
GFX Complex
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-11-19
St.Louis
 

CentOS5
php5.2.6
mysql 5
Media temple DV host

the problem is happening with a full fresh install of 1.1.3 even though the first time I seen the problem is was with a upgrade from 1.1.2
So I tried a full clean install via full upload of all files in FTP.

cleared the cache two times

No errors come up.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
GFX Complex
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-11-19
St.Louis
 

Here is a screen shot

Image Attachments
Untitled-2.png
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
golles
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  257
Joined:  2008-01-15
 

as a TEST try configuring php to work with the compiled php version magento have provided

see:
http://www.magentocommerce.com/knowledge-base/entry/installing-magento-on-a-php4-server

If that works, you can start to isolate the issue to either a php config conflict or not.

Let us know how you get on.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
zevious
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2008-07-17
 

This has happened to me from 1.0 - 1.1.3.

Error Console on Firefox says:

Error: Error #2176
Source File: http://www.touchrage.com/js/lib/flex.js
Line: 903

I am running a nightly alpha version of Firefox, so I assumed that the problem was that.

Maybe not?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
GFX Complex
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-11-19
St.Louis
 

This cgi file is not helping
Add to add to this I have never had a problem using this function with 1.1.2

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
GFX Complex
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-11-19
St.Louis
 

Found the Error

Error #2176
Source File: /js/lib/flex.js
Line: 903

handleError: function(value)
    
{
        
if (typeof(value)=="string" && value.indexOf("__FLASHERROR")==0)
        
{
            
var myErrorMessage value.split("||");
            if(
FABridge.refCount )
            
{
                FABridge
.refCount--;
            
}
            
throw new Error(myErrorMessage[1]);
            return 
value;
        
}
        
else
        
{
            
return value;
        
}
    }
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
zevious
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2008-07-17
 

So, it looks like an error with Flash?  Maybe because I am using Flash 10 Beta?  Oh course that would be with IE as well, and it works fine....

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
GFX Complex
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-11-19
St.Louis
 

The IE and safari problem is still a problem

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
TheHuntingDynasty
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2008-06-27
 

Same problem with me - no idea what to do.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mister
Member
 
Total Posts:  42
Joined:  2008-08-31
 

Has anyone found any more information about this problem?  When I click on the Browse Files button in Firefox nothing happens.
If I click on the Browse Files button in IE I am asked to select a file, but when I click on Upload Files, nothing happens.

This is on a clean/fresh install of Magento.  Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mister
Member
 
Total Posts:  42
Joined:  2008-08-31
 

I guess I found the solution to the problem...?

“Under Windows, image uploads do not work at this time. As a result, an administrator will not be able to upload product images.”
See http://www.magentocommerce.com/knowledge-base/entry/magento-installation-guide for more details, the Known Issues section specifically.  I was just testing Magento on XAMPP but I will just have to upload it to my web host.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Josh S.
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2008-10-13
 

This also can happen if you have flashblock installed. Make sure to add your site to flashblock’s exclude list, or disable flashblock

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unlimitd1
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2008-10-18
 

fellow magentites, this “error 2176” is indeed a flash 10 player issue. after encountering the problem myself and researching over the net, i found out that flash player 10 does this on purpose to prevent a security exploit. i guess the magento community will have to update the code later on.

a workaround is to first uninstall the flash player 10, and then download flash player 9 from here:

http://www.adobe.com/support/flashplayer/downloads.html#fp9

you want to download this link below:

“Download the Adobe Flash Player 9 Update for Windows and Macintosh (ZIP, 42 MB) “

after unzipping, in the “release” folder, i installed the active x msi and and it worked fine.

enjoy!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
smoothie
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2008-04-08
 

anyone know if this issue with flash player 10 ahs been resolved… I appreciate theres the current work around by goign back to flash 9, but this doesnt solve the issue long term and is also casuin me an issue as other sites i use and software require flash 10 to work so kind of left in limbo trying to know what to do for the best??

any update appreciated

cheers

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 3