Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How do I import product fields: Status, Visibility, Category? 
 
Cornelius
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2007-11-13
 

I’ve successfully imported some products with the new Import/Export feature. It’s looking pretty good so far! But I how to include default values for the status and visibility fields? I’d like all new products to be “enabled” and visible in “catalog, search”.

Also, can I import category info for each product?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Try this:
add column ‘status’ and fill with values “Enabled”
add column ‘visibility’ and fill with values “Catalog, Search”

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Cornelius
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2007-11-13
 

Thanks. I guess that’s pretty obvious!

What about categories? Is there a way to attach new products to existing categories? Or even better, create new categories as part of a product import?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
WisdOMbooks
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  144
Joined:  2007-08-31
Kolkata (Calcutta) - INDIA
 
Cornelius - 14 November 2007 12:05 PM

… What about categories?
Is there a way to attach new products to existing categories?
Or even better, create new categories as part of a product import?

Myself, too, I am VERY interested in understanding the way
HOW to import / create (through import) categories.

Thank you for your valuable time!
A n g e l o

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
magnet0
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  29
Joined:  2007-10-23
Heraklion, Crete
 
WisdOMbooks - 14 November 2007 02:28 PM

Cornelius - 14 November 2007 12:05 PM
… What about categories?
Is there a way to attach new products to existing categories?
Or even better, create new categories as part of a product import?

Myself, too, I am VERY interested in understanding the way
HOW to import / create (through import) categories.

Thank you for your valuable time!
A n g e l o

Hello there,

Have you find anything new about Categories Import? How can we Import categories? Is it Possible?

Thank you for your help
Yiannis

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
WisdOMbooks
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  144
Joined:  2007-08-31
Kolkata (Calcutta) - INDIA
 

NOT so far!… :(

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
easyc
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2008-01-16
 

Hi, I’ve been working on this for some time now as well - I’ve managed to import products using a CSV file.  I have had a few problems however; initially I managed to import products after creating my own very basic CSV file.  As I added more info to the CSV file I found that none of the newer products were shown within the Admin pages.  However, they are visible in the database if I inspect the tables (catalog_product_entity, ).  Also, if I setup an export of the data using the default Profile settings the resulting file contains the missing items.

From the font end if I search for the products they are not found, which is to be expected.

I’ve included a sample of my CSV file below, perhaps someone knows if it’s correctly formed:

"sku","qty","name","cost","description","meta_description","meta_keyword"
"TESTCCIW-D"
,"4","Industrial warning tape - Danger - Superseded","15.4","Non adhesive warning tape - with pre printed message -danger. sold in boxed rolls 75mm wide x 500m long","Yellow with Black text","Industrial warning tape - Danger"
"TESTCDK106"
,"2","6 panel foldaway display kit"," inc free carry bag - Superseded","160.3","6 panel foldaway display kits click together"," class 1 fire rated nylon loop material accepts hook fasteners or pins",
"TESTCDB","8","Accessory bag for display kits - Superseded","20.3","Accessory carry bag for all your odds and ends to do with Display kits","Blue with Green trim","Accessory bag for display kits"
"TESTCCIW-UI"
,"11","Industrial warning tape - Unidentified Insulation - Superseded","15.4","Non adhesive warning tape - with pre printed message -unidentified insulation. sold in boxed rolls 75mm wide x 500m long","Yellow with Black text","Industrial warning tape - Unidentified Insulation"

Are there specific items which MUST be in the CSV file?  I included SKU which is unique for each of the records above, but I am starting to think I must be missing some basic requirement to get this working - any ideas anyone?

Fantastic product by the way!  So far I’ve found it more logical and cleaner to work with than some other carts.
Clive

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MI
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  172
Joined:  2008-12-11
Spain
 

Hi,

I have problems with visibility field. It imports the products right except visibility field. I have tried with values “Catalog”, “Search”, “Catalog, Search” and in spanish because my backend is in spanish. But all the times the visibility field of new products shows “En ningún lugar” (None in english)

Why??

I don’t understand.

Please help me!

Moshe - 14 November 2007 11:50 AM

Try this:
add column ‘status’ and fill with values “Enabled”
add column ‘visibility’ and fill with values “Catalog, Search”

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ogonkov
Guru
 
Total Posts:  582
Joined:  2009-03-25
Moscow, Russia
 

MI, same for Russian locale, replace English one with Spanish analogs

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MI
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  172
Joined:  2008-12-11
Spain
 

ogonkov! What do you mean? You say that I have to try with “Catalog”, “Search”, “Catalog, Search” translated to spanish.

I have tried that and it doesn’t work

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ogonkov
Guru
 
Total Posts:  582
Joined:  2009-03-25
Moscow, Russia
 

No, only for “Enabled”

Best way - add some Product, and then export it, to look what Magento need

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
GREENLEAF
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  30
Joined:  2009-06-16
 

When I export a working product the (visibility) says (Catalog, Search)
You would guess that if you added (Catalog, Search) to all your rows it would work but it doesn’t!!!
I am guessing this is not the actual data, I don’t know. This whole nonsense is really making me think Magento is a big joke or something. Starting to seem like the simplest things need hacky workarounds.
Anyone got a solution?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ogonkov
Guru
 
Total Posts:  582
Joined:  2009-03-25
Moscow, Russia
 

So, use “Catalog, Search”. I never have troubles with import ‘visibility’

Make sure that you setup all properly

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top