Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Wholesale only? 

dunover

Total Posts:  1

I am a designer/ developer and am looking for a catalog script for a customer, they need some of the following
-Wholesale only ( no prices show unless logged ) They want their dealers to be able to show the site with out the prices to the end customer

Also
- ability to edit products in bulk with an excel file upload

Will Magento do this?

Thanks!
Cori

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

JoshBelke

Total Posts:  64
NY, NY

Wholesale only.
The default user is whatever you wish them to be.
As far as the listing and product view, editing the theme you can limit it to “is logged in” for the pricing. (this requires some heavy modification)
Once logged in, then the availability is there.

Magento has an importer that you can create custom profiles for.
You are able to associate column headers and import xls // csv.

personally, i like using Open Office with CSV utilizing double quotes to encapsulate and semi-colons as delimeters.

I am currently working on making a wholesale store of a multi-store cart.
We are using magento because its being designed as a full scale application (not a light script) to handle such things.

Good Luck in your decision process. It will take you a good hard month to get “intimate” with the product and all of its avenues if you are a developer, if not, longer.

~Josh

Magento Community
Magento Community

DrinkCoffee

Total Posts:  9

@dunover, did you ever implement this?