Magento Forum

Zend Table Cache / Performance
 
developerx
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2007-10-23
 

Does Magento support Zend Table Cache ?

By default, Zend_Db_Table_Abstract queries the underlying database for table metadata upon instantiation of a table object. That is, when a new table object is created, the object’s default behavior is to fetch the table metadata from the database using the adapter’s describeTable() method.

$cache = Zend_Cache::factory(’Core’, ‘File’, $frontendOptions, $backendOptions);
// Next, set the cache to be used with all table objects
Zend_Db_Table_Abstract::setDefaultMetadataCache($cache);

http://framework.zend.com/manual/en/zend.db.table.html

With a lot of product information retrieving product list and searches is quite slow

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
B00MER
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  130
Joined:  2007-12-27
DFW, TX
 

What version of magento, and how many products/categories? Are you already utilizing the caching feature under System > Cache management? Also shared or dedicated hosting?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
developerx
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2007-10-23
 

Version 1.0 and 1.1 with Memcached enabled, around 90,000 products mixed between simple products and configurable

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
B00MER
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  130
Joined:  2007-12-27
DFW, TX
 

If you’ve got a dedicated box, give mytop a try through ssh see if you’ve got any database bottlenecks.
http://jeremy.zawodny.com/mysql/mytop/

I’ve not hit anywhere near 90k products, but im defiantly curious how well Magento hands it, so far it seems bleak.

From my understanding I think Magento does utilizes Zend cache framework…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
B00MER
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  130
Joined:  2007-12-27
DFW, TX
 

Quick search with WinGrep on 1.1.2 I see quite a few references to Zend_Cache.

\app\code\core\Zend\Cache\Backend\Memcached.php

...

\lib\varien\data\collection\DB.php

/**
     * Retrieve cache instance
     *
     * @return Zend_Cache_Core
     */
    protected function _getCacheInstance()
    
{
        
if (isset($this->_cacheConf['object'])) {
            
return $this->_cacheConf['object'];
        
}
        
return false;
    
}
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
developerx
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2007-10-23
 

the config is 3 web servers, and 1 database server, all dedicated.

Magento only seems to support caching of layout objects, doesn’t seem to cache table meta data. I think this will improve overall performance.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lorik
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  81
Joined:  2008-08-29
Grenoble
 

hi

what about trafic ? huge ?

Please see this post regarding performance, and give your opinion ! This is not spam…

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/18229/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
nikefido
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  481
Joined:  2008-07-11
New Haven, CT
 

Knowing Magento you should probably have 1 web server and 3 database servers rasberry

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top