Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Modern Theme. Move Toplinks-Bar Up
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

hi All,

Can anyone point provide some pointers on how to move the toplinks-bar from its current position in the modern theme to the header section?

See attached screen shot

thanks
Brendan

Image Attachments
ScreenShot00081.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Cano
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2009-03-08
 

hello,

i have the same problem, can anyone help me?

thanks
Cano

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
[JJ]
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  294
Joined:  2009-02-02
Eifel /Kreis EU
 

hi you all,

did you found an answer ??

brendan. - 05 August 2008 07:51 PM

hi All,

Can anyone point provide some pointers on how to move the toplinks-bar from its current position in the modern theme to the header section?

See attached screen shot

thanks
Brendan

@ brendan, I saw at your site, it´s ok ? or not??  can you help me ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
WayLay Design
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2009-03-16
Las Vegas, NV.
 

Not sure if this helps....but I moved my “top-links” to the upper left corner over the top of the header. The way I did it was by editing all of the different layout templates found in: /app/design/frontend/default/modern/template/page. The code below is an example of how placement of the code can change its location. You have to modify ALL of the files, 1column, 2column-left, etc to make sure it works the same when your page changes layouts. Here’s the code that goes between the div container and the div outline-creator and a screen shot of the result. Hope it helps:
<div class="container">

<!--top links placement-->
<?php echo $this->getLayout()->getBlock('top.links')->toHtml()?>
<?php echo $this->getLayout()->getBlock('header')->getWelcome()?>
<!--end top links placement-->
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('header') ?>

<div class="outline-creator">

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
WayLay Design
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2009-03-16
Las Vegas, NV.
 

Not sure if this helps....but I moved my “top-links” to the upper left corner over the top of the header. The way I did it was by editing all of the different layout templates found in: /app/design/frontend/default/modern/template/page. The code below is an example of how placement of the code can change its location. You have to modify ALL of the files, 1column, 2column-left, etc to make sure it works the same when your page changes layouts. Here’s the code that goes between the div container and the div outline-creator and a screen shot of the result. Hope it helps:
<div class="container">

<!--top links placement-->
<?php echo $this->getLayout()->getBlock('top.links')->toHtml()?>
<?php echo $this->getLayout()->getBlock('header')->getWelcome()?>
<!--end top links placement-->
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('header') ?>

<div class="outline-creator">

Image Attachments
sshot.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top