Magento Forum

   
Can magento (really) import group products? 
 
biondo
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-07-24
Italy
 

Hello, if I create a group product with associated products and export to csv files, during an import of this file the associated product are removed. There isn’t too associate between the group product and the associated product!
Is this a bug or a missing feature?

thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cnrx
Member
 
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2008-07-24
 

Hi Biondo,

I am afraid it’s worse than that… I am importing a GROUPED product via CSV.
If the product exists already (and has been created as GROUPED) then all goes well (more or less).

However, if the product doesn’t exist, Magento creates it, it displays it as GROUPED but then this product doesn’t display anywhere.
My conclusion is that something’s wrong with the import mechanism.

Has anyone else seen this behaviour?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
shua
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2009-05-12
 

Bump!

I am having the same issue. I am trying to import products into a blank DB… everything imports pretty much fine, however I have to go in and manually associate simple products to grouped products. This is a real pain… seems like we just need another column in the import spreadsheet that denotes the parent items’ SKU....

or maybe there is a special way to format SKUs so that they will group together automatically?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bkscott
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  137
Joined:  2009-07-16
Sacramento
 

check this out and see if it helps you.

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/49620/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bolasevich
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  235
Joined:  2008-03-04
Newington, CT USA
 

my extension does grouped products

http://www.magentocommerce.com/extension/1894

25k or more .. ive loaded 200k+ into a recent client site

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mhunkler
Guru
 
Total Posts:  304
Joined:  2009-05-30
 

$99 are you kidding?! greedy…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bolasevich
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  235
Joined:  2008-03-04
Newington, CT USA
 

ya well ive got over 150 hours into it. i call that alot of time and it just keeps adding up.. look at my reviews!!! nothing but good comments. Its not greedy.. more then fair even seeing as no one else can do it or wants to invest that kind of time. When you give up cause no other methods work you might feel the 99 is justified and im sure you will be happy with my support.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mhunkler
Guru
 
Total Posts:  304
Joined:  2009-05-30
 

actually i wound up finding a way to do it for free… But just so you know, honestly it was a pain and i would have paid 50.  I think 99 is pushing it and more people might would pay if it was a little more affordable. 

I really wish magento would start incorporating these major necessary features into their cms

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mc2prod
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2010-02-11
 
mhunkler - 10 February 2010 07:42 AM

actually i wound up finding a way to do it for free… But just so you know, honestly it was a pain and i would have paid 50.  I think 99 is pushing it and more people might would pay if it was a little more affordable. 

I really wish magento would start incorporating these major necessary features into their cms

Hi Mhunkler,

Do you mind sharing how you did it for free? or point us to a relevant thread?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
miked2004
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  214
Joined:  2007-12-13
Atlanta, Georgia
 

If all you want is to add the associated products durring import then here is a snippet to help.
1. Associated products need to exist allready
2. This code needs to be added to the “mage/catalog/model/convert/adapter/product/php” file. P.S. I would move this file to the local/Mage directory but you can handle it how ever you want.

I added this around line 702, just after image import code.

//MRD added for Associated Product Import for Grouped PRoducts
        if (isset($importData['grouped_associated_skus'])) {
            
//$importData['grouped_associated_skus']
            
$groupedLinkData = array();
            
$associatedProductSkuArray explode(","$importData['grouped_associated_skus']);
            
$associatedProductsIds $product->getCollection()
                ->
addAttributeToFilter('sku'$associatedProductSkuArray)
                ->
getAllIds();
                
            foreach(
$associatedProductsIds as $id){
                
//Just set position as "0" for now.
                
$groupedLinkData[$id] = array(
                    
'position'    => 0
                
);
            
}
            $product
->setGroupedLinkData($groupedLinkData);
        
}
        
//ENd Custom Grouped Product code

3. add a field called “grouped_associated_skus” with a comma separated list of the sku’s

Then Happy Importing

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
krachid
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2010-04-21
 
miked2004 - 28 February 2011 11:23 AM

If all you want is to add the associated products durring import then here is a snippet to help.
1. Associated products need to exist allready
2. This code needs to be added to the “mage/catalog/model/convert/adapter/product/php” file. P.S. I would move this file to the local/Mage directory but you can handle it how ever you want.

I added this around line 702, just after image import code.



//MRD added for Associated Product Import for Grouped PRoducts
        if (isset($importData['grouped_associated_skus'])) {
            
//$importData['grouped_associated_skus']
            
$groupedLinkData = array();
            
$associatedProductSkuArray explode(","$importData['grouped_associated_skus']);
            
$associatedProductsIds $product->getCollection()
                ->
addAttributeToFilter('sku'$associatedProductSkuArray)
                ->
getAllIds();
                
            foreach(
$associatedProductsIds as $id){
                
//Just set position as "0" for now.
                
$groupedLinkData[$id] = array(
                    
'position'    => 0
                
);
            
}
            $product
->setGroupedLinkData($groupedLinkData);
        
}
        
//ENd Custom Grouped Product code


3. add a field called “grouped_associated_skus” with a comma separated list of the sku’s

Then Happy Importing

Hi everyone,

miked2004, that not worked for me, do u have any details or more information about that? i am on Magento 1.5.X

thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
balrok
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2010-03-09
 

you also have to add ‘qty’=>0 after ‘positon’=>0 then it works

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
JoeAD
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2008-02-27
 

It’s astonishing that the import that Magento comes with still can’t import grouped and associated products yet…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top