Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
[Solved] URL is not accessible - Unable to read response, or response is empty (HELP!)
 
daviddawson
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2008-07-24
 

Url “http://79.170.40.182/cosmeticsfairy.co.uk/magento/” is not accessible
Unable to read response, or response is empty

Hi,

I don’t tend to jump straight to forums when I have a problem as I like to generally work out issues for myself.

However I am getting increasingly frustrated with the installation of Magento.  I am installing on Heart Internet.
I have followed the instructions here: http://www.magentocommerce.com/group/blog/action/viewpost/264/group/132
to the letter and even used the exact programs suggested rather than my usual programs.

Could this problem be because I am installing on a temporary domain reference?

I’ve been trying to install this for 2 days now and I’m nearly ready to give up, seems its one problem after another with the installation of this system!

I was really excited with getting to grips with it aswell!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
daviddawson
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2008-07-24
 

Hi,

I believe someone else is having the same problem on another thread.

I have attached screen shot and the log file.

cosmeticsfairy.co.uk 82.110.105.8 - - [31/Jul/2008:12:57:49 +0100] "GET http://cosmeticsfairy.co.uk/ftpmklZCn.cgi HTTP/1.1" 200 13 "-" "JustAnInstaller/0.1"
Image Attachments
dsds.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
daviddawson
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2008-07-24
 

Could this be a problem with using a Domain reference?  i.e.  http://79.170.40.182/cosmeticsfairy.co.uk/magento/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mikelions
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2008-03-13
Manchester, UK
 

Hi

|I’m also installing on Heart and getting the same error message, I have asked and Heart have increased permissions on my DBs , but tha didnt change anything, heart tells me my dbs are working fine on the domain, I am waiting for a response from one of the team.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Dave Walker
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-07-21
 

I’m also on Heart Internet and getting the same error message.

Has anyone resolved this?  I however am not using the temp address.

Thanks,

Dave

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
daviddawson
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2008-07-24
 

Does not look too hopeful at the moment !

Maybe need to find a new host… I really need to get this project underway as I’m on a deadline

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Dave Walker
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-07-21
 

The bit of code that throws up this error is… magento/lib/Zend/Http/Client.php

$response = $this->adapter->read();

if (! $response) {
#require_once ‘Zend/Http/Client/Exception.php’;
throw new Zend_Http_Client_Exception(’Unable to read response, or response is empty’);
}

I’m looking at these functions atm but if anyone else might know what’s going on I thought I’d post.

Thanks

Dave

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Dave Walker
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-07-21
 

Apologies....

The full code section is…

// Open the connection, send the request and read the response
$this->adapter->connect($uri->getHost(), $uri->getPort(),
($uri->getScheme() == ‘https’ ? true : false));

$this->last_request = $this->adapter->write($this->method,
$uri, $this->config[’httpversion’], $headers, $body);

$response = $this->adapter->read();
if (! $response) {
#require_once ‘Zend/Http/Client/Exception.php’;
throw new Zend_Http_Client_Exception(’Unable to read response, or response is empty’);
}

Obviously we’re not getting a response, but I want to try and follow the function so I can issue the command on it’s own and see what my server is returning.  Help appreciated because my PHP skills aren’t this good!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
daviddawson
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2008-07-24
 

My php skills are weak old man!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Dave Walker
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-07-21
 

Ok…

Click on “Skip Base URL Validation” and that test is ommitted at that point.

Now installation is done and I can test.

:o) (so far)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
daviddawson
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2008-07-24
 

Omg I can’t believe it was that simple ><

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pmoeser
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2009-02-01
 

Thanks very much one and all!
Worked a treat!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
auhoque
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  17
Joined:  2009-08-18
Bangladesh
 

Thanks everybody, its a great solution.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
iazom
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2010-02-25
 
Dave Walker - 04 August 2008 12:07 AM

Apologies....

The full code section is…

// Open the connection, send the request and read the response
$this->adapter->connect($uri->getHost(), $uri->getPort(),
($uri->getScheme() == ‘https’ ? true : false));

$this->last_request = $this->adapter->write($this->method,
$uri, $this->config[’httpversion’], $headers, $body);

$response = $this->adapter->read();
if (! $response) {
#require_once ‘Zend/Http/Client/Exception.php’;
throw new Zend_Http_Client_Exception(’Unable to read response, or response is empty’);
}


Obviously we’re not getting a response, but I want to try and follow the function so I can issue the command on it’s own and see what my server is returning.  Help appreciated because my PHP skills aren’t this good!

hi which connection do i need open or where is the php page located . i m with heart internet ... its been two days now im not able to install due to
Url “http://www.mydomain.co.uk/” is not accessible
Unable to read response, or response is empty

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Andre N
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  186
Joined:  2009-12-09
CA
 
Dave Walker - 04 August 2008 01:53 AM

Ok…

Click on “Skip Base URL Validation” and that test is ommitted at that point.

Now installation is done and I can test.

:o) (so far)

Thank you!!!
This fixed my problem trying to install with ssh on godaddy shared hosting smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
varker
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2010-02-25
 

Great post and solution.

Many thanks Dave Dawson! Saved me some time

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2