Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Always Zero Shipping Weight for Configurable Product! 
 
radders
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  162
Joined:  2008-03-23
 

I have a product which is part of a configurable product. When I add it to cart there is only a minimal shipping charge calculated because there seems to be no way of assigning any shipping weight to the product. The title is that of the configurable product and I assume it is also reading the shipping weight of zero from there.

The same underlying product is also available as a multiple select product in which case it is taking both the title and the shipping weight from the underlying product as intended.

I had thought that there was an error in my table rates but it seems the reason is the configurable product.

Anyone else have this issue in 1.1.1?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
radders
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  162
Joined:  2008-03-23
 

Seems I am not the first to spot this:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/bug-tracking/issue/?issue=2505

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
etho201
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  85
Joined:  2008-04-03
Summerville, SC
 

Bug # 6054

Copying the details of the bug here to get more eyes on the issue.

After upgrading to 1.1.1 stable I have noticed there seems to be a problem with shipping quotes. Shipping works fine for simple products but if the customer selects a configurable product the shipping is unavailable.

Error message:

“This shipping method is currently unavailable. If you would like to ship using this shipping method, please contact us.”

I have tried with both UPS and FedEx. I viewed the debug log and found the following error:

2008-07-26T16:32:40+00:00 DEBUG (7): <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><FDXRateAvailableServicesReply xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="FDXRateAvailableServicesReply.xsd"><ReplyHeader></ReplyHeader><Error><Code>58659</Code><Message>Invalid weight for service type</Message></Error></FDXRateAvailableServicesReply>

It appears that the weight for configurable products isn’t passed through to the carrier for a quote. This problem brings the single page checkout to a screeching halt unable to proceed.

I believe this bug is urgent and requires a patch right away. If anyone knows how to fix this, please help.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
seudo
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  344
Joined:  2008-04-21
 

I am having the same problem. 0 shipping weight for configurable products gives UPS error.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pooniraja
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  26
Joined:  2007-12-22
 

I had the same issue with my configurable products.

Here is the fix.

Please watch the video at
http://www.magentocommerce.com/magento-on-the-fly/custom-product-options/

Create the Configurable product this way.  It is a time saver, plus eliminates the errors for UPS, USPS, Fedex & DHL API’s.

I hope it helps.

Good Luck.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
seudo
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  344
Joined:  2008-04-21
 

Here is the bug tracking page. http://www.magentocommerce.com/bug-tracking/issue?issue=2505. It appears to be fixed in the 1.1.1 trunk

Thanks pooniraja. Will give that a try as well.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
antcommerce
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  19
Joined:  2008-05-06
the Netherlands
 

Can’t find the change in http://svn.magentocommerce.com/source/branches/1.1-trunk/

The suggestion from pooniraja takes too much time, because the product options (CPO) cannot be shared between products. I’d give it a try with the SOAP api, but the current implementation doesn’t cover CPO yet unfortunately.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top