Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

difference between simple product with custom options and configurable products

Ahmed Abdelsalam

Total Posts:  14

i’m kind of new to magento and i noticed that v1.1 has custom options for simple products that the user can choose to configure what he wants, and there is a configurable product that need to use simple products to be configurable but at the frontend it gives the same result to me, is there something that i’m missing ?

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

Fontis

Total Posts:  99
Melbourne, Australia

As far as I can tell the main reason for the two methods is to handle two different kinds of products: physical products and virtual products.

Physical products should be created as configurable products as each option will have a unique SKU. This maps to the real world as your stock of Product X in red will be different to your stock of Product X in blue. In other words, each is really a distinct product that needs to be tracked separately but it’s more convenient for the customer if they view it as a just Product X and have options for red or blue.

Virtual products should be created as simple products with custom options as each option doesn’t need a SKU. Obviously you have no “stock” of virtual products (unless you handle licenses or something) so it doesn’t really matter if someone chooses a red or blue version of Product Y as there’s essentially an infinite number available of both.