Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How to Use The Base URL in CMS
 
Aneas
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  61
Joined:  2008-07-12
San Vito Chietino, Italy
 

Hello Magentos,
i want to make some links in CMS.

But i dont want to write this
Because, if i change the Domain, i must change al custom Texts… bad Idea!

"<a href="http://www.domain.com/customer-service">LINK</a>"

Is it possible to write the link like this:

"<a href="{{base_url}}/customer-service">LINK</a>"
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Aneas
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  61
Joined:  2008-07-12
San Vito Chietino, Italy
 

Or ist OK if i create a link like this if magento is in ROOT:

<a href="/about_us">About Us</a>

If magento is not in ROOT (http://www.example.com/magento):

<a href="./about_us">About Us</a>
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
crius
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  623
Joined:  2007-10-16
Denmark
 

<a href="{{store url=""}customer-service/">Customer Service</a>
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Aneas
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  61
Joined:  2008-07-12
San Vito Chietino, Italy
 

Thank You, but this doesnt Work ...
On the Website there will be found this Link (BrokenLink):

http://www.intercede.it/magento/{{store url=

This is the Reason why i have made the Threat grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
crius
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  623
Joined:  2007-10-16
Denmark
 

Works for me. Are you sure you are putting it in the content field in the CMS module?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Aneas
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  61
Joined:  2008-07-12
San Vito Chietino, Italy
 

i think so grin

look at http://www.intercede.it/magento/about_us <--- it dosnt Work ..

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
norbolig
Guru
 
Total Posts:  328
Joined:  2008-03-15
 

I have Magento installed in the root under my domain.

The code below works both from my CMS page and from the text attribute field on the product view page, when the linked content also is stored in the same domain:

<a target="_blank" href="pdf/manufacturer_1/Usermanual_Product_1.pdf"><strong>Any text for this link</strong></a>

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
stunti
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2007-09-04
 

Old thread but for people looking for the right syntax;
<a href="{{store url=""}}customer-service/">Customer Service</a>

Not the second closing }

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
PJU751
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2008-07-12
 

This syntax works well, but with a HTML editor like FCKeditor (available via the Fontis WYSIWYG extension) it does not. I think this is caused by FCKeditor parsing the source and trimming everything after the second “. For example, in source mode of FCKeditor the following code

<a href="{{store url=""}}customer-service/">Customer Service</a>
will be parsed and trimmed to
<a href="{{store url=">Customer Service</a>
when saving.

Not sure how to fix this, any ideas?

Related thread about image paths and FCKeditor here http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/28158/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top