Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Cart price rule: x of one item type free when ordering x of another type [UPDATE: No resolution possible]

erict

Total Posts:  31

Hey all -
I’m a developer and am new to Magento.  The client I’m working with presented the following scenario:

When a user buys any item of type A, they should be able to choose an item of type B and receive it for free.  If they order 2 of type A (whether they’re the same item or not), they should receive 2 of type B for free (again, whether the same or different items of that type).

Type A is defined by category; type B is defined by a list of SKU’s.

We’ve been working with this for a while and can’t seem to make Magento do this; we can generate vaguely similar behavior (nothing close enough to be usable), but the fact that different quantities of items and different items must be taken into account seems to be throwing us off.  It’s not an option to make them packages, unfortunately, as this will be required periodically for different types.

It’s fallen to me to either generate a working sales rule or extend Magento to handle this case.  I very badly want to avoid the latter; does someone more familiar with the relevant conditions have advice on creating sales rules to accomplish this?

Thank you!
Eric

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

erict

I think this topic was poorly-phrased…

Essentially, I need “buy one get one free,” except it’s buy one of this, get one of that (and needs to work with quantities greater than or equal to 1).

Has anyone managed this?  Devs, is this possible?