Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Change Currency In Cart
 
dataferret
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2007-09-21
 

A useful feature would be the ability for clients to change/compare currencies when in the shopping cart page or going through the checkout.

It would also be great if there was a currency converter based on the default currency and exchange rate which can be toggled on/off by the user

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
soleandblues
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2008-08-30
St. Louis
 

Has this feature been developed?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kabuto
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  18
Joined:  2008-02-25
 

This would be nice grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ravikumar N B
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  213
Joined:  2009-01-12
 

Add currency converter module in checkout module.
Checkout module xml file is located in magento/app/design/frontend/default/default/layout/checkout.xml
After line : 61
Add following code:

<block type="directory/currency" name="currency" template="directory/currency.phtml"/>
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kabuto
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  18
Joined:  2008-02-25
 

Thanks, but I couldn’t make that work.

I added this in template/checkout/cart/sidebar.phtml on line 51

<a href="http://www.google.com/search?q=<?php echo ($this->getSubtotal()) ?>+SEK+in+EUR" target="_blank">EUR</a> :
<
a href="http://www.google.com/search?q=<?php echo ($this->getSubtotal()) ?>+SEK+in+GBP" target="_blank">GBP</a> :
<
a href="http://www.google.com/search?q=<?php echo ($this->getSubtotal()) ?>+SEK+in+USD" target="_blank">USD</a> :
<
a href="http://www.google.com/search?q=<?php echo ($this->getSubtotal()) ?>+SEK+in+JPY" target="_blank">JPY</a>

I know it’s not the best thing to do, but it works. Better would be a php script that could fetch and display the currencies for the Subtotal directly.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ravikumar N B
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  213
Joined:  2009-01-12
 

I think this thread is very useful to you.
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/11715/#t108461

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top