Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

System > Tools > Backup doesn’t backup all data
 
Dieter21
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  51
Joined:  2008-03-29
Belgium
 

Hello everyone,

I noticed something strange today.
In the Admin-pages there is a tool to backup the database. (System -> Tools -> Backup).
I tried it to copy the data from my webhost database to my local database on my laptop.
I used MyPHPAdmin to Import the backup file, and everything went fine.
But when I checked my local website the following problem had occured:

The product attributes were not longer assosiated with the attribute_sets and attribute_groups.

So I used the following query to check the problem:

SELECT t3.attribute_set_name,t4.attribute_group_name ,t2.attribute_codet2.frontend_label
FROM eav_entity_attribute t1
LEFT JOIN eav_attribute t2 ON t1
.attribute_id t2.attribute_id
LEFT JOIN eav_attribute_set t3 ON t1
.attribute_set_id t3.attribute_set_id
LEFT JOIN eav_attribute_group t4 ON t1
.attribute_group_id t4.attribute_group_id
ORDER BY t3
.attribute_set_name,t4.attribute_group_name ,t2.attribute_codet2.frontend_label

This query gave me 2 different results on the webhost and on my local database.

The magento backup tool didn’t copy all the rows from the eav_entity_attribute table.
After manualy copying the complete ‘eav_entity_attribute’-table from my webhost to my local database, everything worked fine on my laptop.

Does anybody know what this problem might have caused?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Michael_1
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  826
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Did you try to find those data in the backup file ?
What Magento version do you use ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Dieter21
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  51
Joined:  2008-03-29
Belgium
 

I checked it and indeed the data is NOT present in the magento backup file.
I have attached the two sql files so you can see for yourself.

I use Magento versie 1.0.19870.4

File Attachments
eav_entity_attribute_phpmysql.sql  (File Size: 18KB - Downloads: 231)
eav_entity_attribute_magento.sql  (File Size: 18KB - Downloads: 206)
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Michael_1
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  826
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

This problem was addressed and fixed for 1.1 release.
We’ll provide an update for 1.0 in the meantime.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
nicolas46
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  210
Joined:  2008-04-09
Toulouse
 

I’m glad to hear that it will be fixed, I noticed this problem long time ago (I loose a lot of work using this backup) but I thought It was already know by Varien.

Thanks Dieter21 !!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MagentoBackups
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  16
Joined:  2010-02-02
Los Angeles
 

Hi All,
We’ve just released a new module and annual service for backing up Magento and includes robust version control. You can read more about it on Magento Connect or at the website: http://www.magento-backups.com

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
perfectshape
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2010-02-25
 

We had a similar issue on version 1.3.2.3

When we came to restore some tables were missing.

I would advise using a non application specific backup i.e. doing a mysql backup of the entire database schema (if you use mysql like 99% of magento users) so you are 100% covered.

The tables we were missing were a result of extensions that had created their own tables so not strictly a Magento bug but annoying all the same and wasted a significant amount of time rebuilding the system
Also the reason the database died was a result of a Magento bug that caused it to re-install itself. Seems ok now we’ve moved to a more recent version 1.4.1.1.

Luckily we were on a dev environment so wasn’t critical but now looking at creating a hot standby instance of magento for our production environment so we can recover fairly quickly from any future disaster or server issue.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mthsialkot
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  31
Joined:  2010-11-08
Pakistan
 

When I use System>>>Tools >>> Backup
this utility create many unlimited copies of backup in different sizes.
what is reason ?
I click only one time

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
CoastAMS
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  57
Joined:  2011-03-24
Bath
 

When I backup from the Magento backend it doesn’t seem to back up everything - the size of the un-zipped file doesn’t match with what i see in phpmyadmin...?

phpmyadmin - 190mb
zip file from M - 5mb
unzipped - 55mb

Do i need to change the limits in the htaccess?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chiefair
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1848
Joined:  2009-06-04
 

The backup run through Magento admin is running under a GUI interface and therefore requires a lot of resources (memory) and for script execution timeouts to be increased.

A better solution is to run a mysqldump from the command line using cron. It uses only the memory required to actually run the job, is far quicker and can be set up through a cronable shell script to do a once-a-day backup that you then ftp off-site for proper backup.

mysqldump -u magentouser -pmagentopass magentodb magentodbdump.sql
gzip magentodbdump
.sql

To have Magento do full backups, make sure your memory_limit is set to 256M, max_execution_time is set to 7200. There also may need to be settings make for the MySQL my.cnf file if the Magento backup still doesn’t run to completion.

Discrepancies noticed.

phpMyAdmin looks to be doing an uncompressed SQL dump. You can tell it to send you a gzipped dump 350MB = approx 20MB

The unzipped file from Magento should be reasonably close to the size produced by phpMyAdmin uncompressed. There are different options used between Magento and phpMyAdmin, so they will never be the same size, plus Magento adds some code to turn off foreign key checks during restore.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MagePlace
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  50
Joined:  2010-11-10
Belarus
 

We would like to offer our Backup extension for your review. It can backup DB and site files directly from site admin panel.
It also supports cron jobs, Dropbox and Amazon storages.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top