Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
Add Footer Links to Main Navigation

Darren E

Total Posts:  54
The Woodlands, Texas

Hi all - I’m running a relatively simple store and my client wants the site to have “customer service, about us, and contact” on the same line as the product navigation.

http://boardbookalbums.com/

What’s the easiest way to tackle this issue?

I’m afraid of messing things up after finally getting things to work so far.

Thanks in advance.

Darren

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

shir

Total Posts:  37
Byron Bay, NSW, Australia

I’ve seen a few complicated ways to do this and I’m no programmer, so I also didn’t want to mess things up.

Here’s what I did…

First I created Static Blocks - About Us, Customer Service, Returns and Replacements, and so on, with standard HTML of what I wanted in there.

Categories aren’t just for products.

I created a Category called Help & Info (parent is Root Category).
Display mode: Static Block Only.
For that static block, I put in the Footer Links static block for now, but I will create another static block with relevant info.
Then I created several categories under Help & Info with the same principle. They’re called: About Us, Customer Service, Sizing and so on.

For each one:
Display mode: Static Block Only
Choose the static block you want (one of the ones you’ve created for this purpose).
Go to Custom Design and choose how you want the page to look - 2 col left/right, 3 col etc.

What you’ll then see is a pull-down menu of all the “categories/static blocks” you just added. I did mine as a pull-down menu because I’m expecting to have several main product categories showing up in the menu and I thought that eventually I wouldn’t have enough room.