Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

google analytics - and page tracking
 
golles
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  257
Joined:  2008-01-15
 

I apologise if this has been posted before (I could not find it).

Using the core google analytics (ga) implementation on v1.01.9870 - there appears to be a fairly major issue with regards to tracking pages via url.

Analytics only shows url’s prior to be rewritten, so you end up seeing pages visited reports in ga with urls like this:

http://www.mydomain.com/catalog/product/view/id/243/category/34

instead of:

http://www.mydomain.com/my-product-name.html

This is quite an issue if you are tracking conversion by page, page stickiness etc -as you would have to cross reference each re written url with the original url in the url management section of admin - for a store with 3000 products this is quite an issue.

have I missed something? / doing something wrong?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
golles
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  257
Joined:  2008-01-15
 

I see this issue still exists in v1.1.3

I am not sure if there is anything that can be done or any work arounds ?

Anyone having similar issues?

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Dustin
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  160
Joined:  2008-03-13
Columbus, OH
 

Yes I get this exact same thing.

No idea why it records the page as that. There has to be some way to get it to report the correct urls, but I would have no idea.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
roco
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  191
Joined:  2008-03-18
 

I was just about to post the same thing................glad I checked first.  How do we work with Analytics if when the URL’s it uses are the ones prior to being rewritten?  It makes it very hard to work with the results?  Does anyone have a solution for this?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Vevelt
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  19
Joined:  2008-08-05
Itzehoe in Germany
 

problem is here too… don’t know how this happens, I think the Javascript-Code for Google Analytics is executed in Browser so it should contain the http://www.mydomain.com/my-product-name.html URLs, because the other ones aren’t available there, are they?

What about: http://www.reubenyau.com/google-analytics-full-referrer-tracking-update/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  889
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

Sam problem here. Please report bugs such as this one here:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/bug-tracking/report/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
BoostMyShop
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  155
Joined:  2008-06-11
France
 

Hello,

this issue remains in magento 1.5

I changed Google analytic module code to:
- Include query string parameters
- Get the “nice” url

Edit app\code\code\mage\googleanalytics\block\ga.php :

public function getPageName()
{
//Modifie par OZN
if (!$this->hasData(’page_name’)) {
//Recupere les parametre d’url
$params = $this->getRequest()->getRequestUri();
if (!(strpos($params, ‘?’) === false))
$params = substr($params, strpos($params, ‘?’) + 1);
else
$params = ‘’;
//Definit l’url
$url = $this->getRequest()->getRequestString();
if ($params != ‘’)
$url .= ‘?’.$params;
$this->setPageName($url);
}
return $this->getData(’page_name’);
}

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top