Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

CSS Menu Quirk - Firefox and IE are 1px off

barrmy

Total Posts:  102

I just noticed an issue with my topNav category menu, where FF/IE are 1px off from each other (IE is shifted one pixel lower).  I’m new to CSS so I really appreciate any help

Here is my CSS....Thanks in advance!!

#nav { float:left; margin-top:16px; margin-left:1px; font-size:1.1em; z-index:999; position:absolute;
top115px}

/************** ALL LEVELS  *************/ /* Style consistent throughout all nav levels */
#nav li {

position:relative;

display:block;

height:23px;

font-size:11px;

font-weight:bold;

background:transparent url(../images/bgOFF.gifrepeat-x top left;

font-family:Arial,Verdana,Helvitica,sans-serif;

border-top:4px solid #B30000;

margin:0;

padding:0;
   list-
style-type:none;

width:auto;

float:left;margin:0;

}

/************ 1ST LEVEL  ***************/
#nav a {    

float:left;

color:#666;

text-decoration:none;

padding:11px 20px 0 20px;

height:23px;

background:transparent url(../images/bgDIVIDER.gifno-repeat top right;

}
#nav a:hover {    

color:#B30000;

background:#fff url(../images/bgON.gif) no-repeat top right;

}
Image Attachments
cssmenu_ff.jpgcssmenu_ie.jpg

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

Bran

Total Posts:  4

Well, it appears that you are using list elements (li) for the navigation.  Instead of using display:block for those elements and trying to adjust them, have you considered using display:inline?  That is a common technique for li elements.  More info: http://w3schools.com/css/pr_class_display.asp