Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Phantom Product
 
bzsaw
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  141
Joined:  2008-02-13
 

In the front end of the site in the catalog I see a product that is out of stock. I need to delete it but when I go to the products list in the backend I can’t find it at all. When I go to the category and look at the products that are associated with the category it’s not in there either.

The only place you can see it is on the front end.

Has anyone else run into this? If so is there a way to find it and delete it?

Thanks for the help.

Best,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bzsaw
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  141
Joined:  2008-02-13
 

∆ Bump…

Any help with this would be awesome. Search this one in the forum too but didn’t find anything.

Thanks,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
liotropi
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  182
Joined:  2008-02-21
Athens, Greece
 

have you checked for all store views?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bzsaw
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  141
Joined:  2008-02-13
 

I don’t exactly get what you mean. Where would this be at?

Thanks,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
liotropi
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  182
Joined:  2008-02-21
Athens, Greece
 

when you go to manage products
in the upper right, there should be a box to select store view
try another view (if you have one)

of course this shouldn’t happen but I’ve noticed that similar problems
I’ve had were solved by using a specific store view instead of default

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bzsaw
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  141
Joined:  2008-02-13
 

My site only has one store so I’m assuming I wouldn’t have that. Check out the screen shot.

Thanks,

Image Attachments
Picture 2.png
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
liotropi
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  182
Joined:  2008-02-21
Athens, Greece
 

what about checking the database thru phpMyAdmin?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
liotropi
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  182
Joined:  2008-02-21
Athens, Greece
 

check out this post
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/11451/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bzsaw
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  141
Joined:  2008-02-13
 

Okay… I ended up going into phpMyAdmin like liotropi suggested. Did a backup first then did a search not only for the name but the product number. Deleted all things related to it. Then refreshed the front end and it worked.

The crazy thing is that the log files keep a copy of it and until I deleted those too it didn’t disappear.

Thanks for the help. That was a weird one.

Best,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top