Magento Forum

   
modified templates and css in new version
 
Hadifarnoud
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  210
Joined:  2007-10-07
Guildford, Surrey, UK
 

i modified 0.6.12 templates(phtml) and css.can i just overwrite templates and css or these files changed in 0.6.13?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

It is suggested that you would create a new folder for theme under “default” package:
* app/design/frontend/default/your_package/template/ ( for your templates )
* skin/frontend/default/your_package/ ( for CSS and images )

After that set in Admin / System / Configuration / Design / Themes / Default set to “your_package”

This will make Magento use files that you have in your_package, and if missed will fallback to “default” theme, and you won’t have to loose your changes next upgrade.

Also, please copy into your theme’s skin styles.css even though you are not using it, because it contains @import statements and Magento won’t be aware of the files that are inside of it..

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NueBe
Member
 
Total Posts:  65
Joined:  2007-09-30
Tres Cantos - Madrid - Spain
 

You can create another template, and use the original for reference.
But if you upgrade magento, sometimes the new template crash the shop, because sometimes the tags or the css change

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hadifarnoud
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  210
Joined:  2007-10-07
Guildford, Surrey, UK
 

exception ‘Mage_Core_Exception’ with message ‘Package layout file (main.xml) could not be read.’ in /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/app/Mage.php:330
Stack trace:
#0 /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Layout/Update.php(250): Mage::exception(’Mage_Core’, ‘Package layout ...’)
#1 /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Layout/Update.php(234): Mage_Core_Model_Layout_Update->fetchPackageLayoutUpdates(’default’)
#2 /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Layout/Update.php(212): Mage_Core_Model_Layout_Update->merge(’default’)
#3 /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Action.php(239): Mage_Core_Model_Layout_Update->load()
#4 /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Action.php(198): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Action->loadLayoutUpdates()
#5 /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Cms/Helper/Page.php(51): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Action->loadLayout()
#6 /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Cms/controllers/IndexController.php(26): Mage_Cms_Helper_Page->renderPage(Object(Mage_Cms_IndexController), ‘home’)
#7 /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Action.php(326): Mage_Cms_IndexController->indexAction()
#8 /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Router/Standard.php(147): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Action->dispatch(’index’)
#9 /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Front.php(164): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Router_Standard->match(Object(Zend_Controller_Request_Http))
#10 /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/app/Mage.php(378): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Front->dispatch()
#11 /var/www/vhosts/zigorat.com/subdomains/dev/httpdocs/index.php(28): Mage::run(’base’)
#12 {main}

i changed package name to custom_theme

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hadifarnoud
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  210
Joined:  2007-10-07
Guildford, Surrey, UK
 

i changed package name to default (look at my attachment)
right modules didn’t show :(
http://dev.zigorat.ir

Image Attachments
untitled.JPG
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Dominik
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2007-09-12
 
Moshe - 21 October 2007 01:03 PM

It is suggested that you would create a new folder for theme under “default” package:
* app/design/frontend/default/your_package/template/ ( for your templates )
* skin/frontend/default/your_package/ ( for CSS and images )

I got the impression that the documentation is wrong in this point. Better try

app/design/frontend/your_package/default/template/ ( for your templates )
skin/frontend/your_package/default/ ( for CSS and images )

Good luck!
Domo

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hadifarnoud
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  210
Joined:  2007-10-07
Guildford, Surrey, UK
 

this is the screenshot of my site! there is no sidebar and no footer :(
please help me ASAP

Image Attachments
untitled2.JPG
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Dominik
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2007-09-12
 

In the admin section, under ‘System/Design’, set ‘Current package name’ to your theme (e.g. ‘custom_theme’).

Leave all the ‘Themes’ fields blank.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hadifarnoud
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  210
Joined:  2007-10-07
Guildford, Surrey, UK
 

thanks , i managed it , i uploaded layout too and now it’s done smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
xdeveloper
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2007-11-12
 
!MP - 23 October 2007 01:00 AM

thanks , i managed it , i uploaded layout too and now it’s done smile

can you tell us exactly where you uploaded things and how your paths differ from the suggestions above?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top