Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Illegal mix of collations (latin1_swedish_ci,..)
 
kharisma
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-10-18
Australia
 

Please see Illegal mix of collations (latin1_swedish_ci,..)
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/1086/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kharisma
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-10-18
Australia
 

I started the install, and got as far as entering the database info, and the url info for secure and non-secure use.

Hit enter and got the following: (and more)

Now, even when I close down the browser and start again, instead of the install wizard I just get a page with this error.

Zend_Db_Statement_Mysqli_Exception Object
(
[message:protected] => Mysqli statement execute error : Illegal mix of collations (latin1_swedish_ci,IMPLICIT) and (utf8_general_ci,COERCIBLE) for operation ‘=’
[string:private] =>
[code:protected] => 0
[file:protected] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Statement/Mysqli.php
[line:protected] => 251
[trace:private] => Array
(
[0] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Statement.php
[line] => 279
[function] => _execute
[class] => Zend_Db_Statement_Mysqli
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => Array
(
[0] => General
)

)

)

[1] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Abstract.php
[line] => 396
[function] => execute
[class] => Zend_Db_Statement
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => Array
(
[0] => General
)

)

)

[2] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Abstract.php
[line] => 693
[function] => query
[class] => Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => select * from eav_attribute_group where attribute_group_name=? and attribute_set_id=12
[1] => General
)

)

[3] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Resource/Setup.php
[line] => 321
[function] => fetchRow
[class] => Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => select * from eav_attribute_group where attribute_group_name=? and attribute_set_id=12
[1] => General
)

)

[4] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Eav/Model/Entity/Setup.php
[line] => 235
[function] => getTableRow
[class] => Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Setup
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => eav/attribute_group
[1] => attribute_group_name
[2] => General
[3] => attribute_group_id
[4] => attribute_set_id
[5] => 12
)

)

[5] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Eav/Model/Entity/Setup.php
[line] => 241
[function] => getAttributeGroup
[class] => Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Setup
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => 9
[1] => 12
[2] => General
[3] => attribute_group_id
)

)

[6] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Eav/Model/Entity/Setup.php
[line] => 379
[function] => getAttributeGroupId
[class] => Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Setup
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => 9
[1] => 12
[2] => General
)

)

[7] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Eav/Model/Entity/Setup.php
[line] => 313
[function] => addAttributeToSet
[class] => Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Setup
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => 9
[1] => 12
[2] => General
[3] => custom_layout_update
[4] =>
)

)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kharisma
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-10-18
Australia
 

I have found that i can restart the installation wizard by deleting /app/etc/local.xml (which has database settings in it)

Still get the same error in the same place, and cannot proceed. Please help.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Michae1
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  826
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Do you have any specific database server/client/connection encoding settings in you mysql.ini config ? What version of mysql is running there ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kharisma
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-10-18
Australia
 

OK, this is odd.

In the end I uploaded it to another website, and it set up just fine.
Same webhost, so same database settings and so on.

So once I saw that it would install properly in that environment, I deleted all the files and the database from the first site and started again.

*Still* the same problem. What gives?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
M. Ramon Lopez
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2007-10-15
 

I’ve got the same problem. What is the correct collation for Magento?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Magento uses utf8_general_ci

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
benjaminATwebbutvecklarnaDOTse
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2007-10-11
 

I have no idea if this helps at all, but originally, when I went over to UTF-8 with my own development, I had these weird problems and this is how I had to do it to resolve them: I had to declare the:
MySQL charset to be “UTF-8 Unicode (utf8)”,
MySQL connection collation to be “utf8_unicode_ci”,
Each database to have a default collation of utf8_bin,
and then I have to end my db connections by declaring:

mysql_query("SET NAMES utf8");

on top of this I can do pretty much what I want with charsets in tables. Mostly I just stick to utf8_bin, but when I import old iso tables and similar stuff it also works well. When I build search routines I can use “COLLATE utf8_swedish_ci” or other utf8 local charsets for localised full-text searches.

Again, I have no idea if any of this helps. I didn’t take the time to actually look at your problem:) Just offered up this since it’s a scheme that has helped me.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kharisma
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-10-18
Australia
 

I’ve looked at the databases and made changes to the collations etc to no avail.

I don’t think this is a Magento problem.

I have access to a few different accounts on the same webhost.

In one account, i was able to install Magento just fine - no problem of any kind.

In another account, it doesn’t matter what database I create, or what website or subdomain I install it on, there is always this same problem.

The account that has a problem is on a different server, so I am wondering if the webhost has configured the servers a little differently.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
benjaminATwebbutvecklarnaDOTse
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2007-10-11
 

That sounds like a definite possibility. Do phpinfo(); on the two servers, look at the magento system requirements and compare results.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kharisma
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-10-18
Australia
 

Webhost has just got back to me.

They say that the account with the problem puts its databases on an older MySQL 4 machine, while the other account puts its db’s on a newer MySQL 5 machine.

So they are going to move the databases to a machine that uses MySQL 5

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top