Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Illegal mix of collations (latin1_swedish_ci,..)
 
kharisma
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-10-18
Australia
 

Please see Illegal mix of collations (latin1_swedish_ci,..)
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/1086/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kharisma
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-10-18
Australia
 

I started the install, and got as far as entering the database info, and the url info for secure and non-secure use.

Hit enter and got the following: (and more)

Now, even when I close down the browser and start again, instead of the install wizard I just get a page with this error.

Zend_Db_Statement_Mysqli_Exception Object
(
[message:protected] => Mysqli statement execute error : Illegal mix of collations (latin1_swedish_ci,IMPLICIT) and (utf8_general_ci,COERCIBLE) for operation ‘=’
[string:private] =>
[code:protected] => 0
[file:protected] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Statement/Mysqli.php
[line:protected] => 251
[trace:private] => Array
(
[0] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Statement.php
[line] => 279
[function] => _execute
[class] => Zend_Db_Statement_Mysqli
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => Array
(
[0] => General
)

)

)

[1] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Abstract.php
[line] => 396
[function] => execute
[class] => Zend_Db_Statement
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => Array
(
[0] => General
)

)

)

[2] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Abstract.php
[line] => 693
[function] => query
[class] => Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => select * from eav_attribute_group where attribute_group_name=? and attribute_set_id=12
[1] => General
)

)

[3] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Resource/Setup.php
[line] => 321
[function] => fetchRow
[class] => Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => select * from eav_attribute_group where attribute_group_name=? and attribute_set_id=12
[1] => General
)

)

[4] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Eav/Model/Entity/Setup.php
[line] => 235
[function] => getTableRow
[class] => Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Setup
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => eav/attribute_group
[1] => attribute_group_name
[2] => General
[3] => attribute_group_id
[4] => attribute_set_id
[5] => 12
)

)

[5] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Eav/Model/Entity/Setup.php
[line] => 241
[function] => getAttributeGroup
[class] => Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Setup
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => 9
[1] => 12
[2] => General
[3] => attribute_group_id
)

)

[6] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Eav/Model/Entity/Setup.php
[line] => 379
[function] => getAttributeGroupId
[class] => Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Setup
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => 9
[1] => 12
[2] => General
)

)

[7] => Array
(
[file] => /home/.bobbin/user/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Eav/Model/Entity/Setup.php
[line] => 313
[function] => addAttributeToSet
[class] => Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Setup
[type] => ->
[args] => Array
(
[0] => 9
[1] => 12
[2] => General
[3] => custom_layout_update
[4] =>
)

)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kharisma
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-10-18
Australia
 

I have found that i can restart the installation wizard by deleting /app/etc/local.xml (which has database settings in it)

Still get the same error in the same place, and cannot proceed. Please help.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Michael_1
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  826
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Do you have any specific database server/client/connection encoding settings in you mysql.ini config ? What version of mysql is running there ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kharisma
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-10-18
Australia
 

OK, this is odd.

In the end I uploaded it to another website, and it set up just fine.
Same webhost, so same database settings and so on.

So once I saw that it would install properly in that environment, I deleted all the files and the database from the first site and started again.

*Still* the same problem. What gives?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
M. Ramon Lopez
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2007-10-15
 

I’ve got the same problem. What is the correct collation for Magento?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Magento uses utf8_general_ci

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
benjaminATwebbutvecklarnaDOTse
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2007-10-11
 

I have no idea if this helps at all, but originally, when I went over to UTF-8 with my own development, I had these weird problems and this is how I had to do it to resolve them: I had to declare the:
MySQL charset to be “UTF-8 Unicode (utf8)”,
MySQL connection collation to be “utf8_unicode_ci”,
Each database to have a default collation of utf8_bin,
and then I have to end my db connections by declaring:

mysql_query("SET NAMES utf8");

on top of this I can do pretty much what I want with charsets in tables. Mostly I just stick to utf8_bin, but when I import old iso tables and similar stuff it also works well. When I build search routines I can use “COLLATE utf8_swedish_ci” or other utf8 local charsets for localised full-text searches.

Again, I have no idea if any of this helps. I didn’t take the time to actually look at your problem:) Just offered up this since it’s a scheme that has helped me.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kharisma
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-10-18
Australia
 

I’ve looked at the databases and made changes to the collations etc to no avail.

I don’t think this is a Magento problem.

I have access to a few different accounts on the same webhost.

In one account, i was able to install Magento just fine - no problem of any kind.

In another account, it doesn’t matter what database I create, or what website or subdomain I install it on, there is always this same problem.

The account that has a problem is on a different server, so I am wondering if the webhost has configured the servers a little differently.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
benjaminATwebbutvecklarnaDOTse
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2007-10-11
 

That sounds like a definite possibility. Do phpinfo(); on the two servers, look at the magento system requirements and compare results.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kharisma
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2007-10-18
Australia
 

Webhost has just got back to me.

They say that the account with the problem puts its databases on an older MySQL 4 machine, while the other account puts its db’s on a newer MySQL 5 machine.

So they are going to move the databases to a machine that uses MySQL 5

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top