Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

how to present only new product on the home page
 
raphy
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2008-06-17
 

hi,

i’d like to display the new product on the home page, and not the best seller.

How can I do that ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lazzymonk
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  391
Joined:  2008-04-03
England
 

In your cms page you have set as your home page add the following block

{{block type="catalog/product_new" name="home.catalog.product.new" alias="product_new" template="catalog/product/new.phtml"}}

this will display products that have “Set Product as New from Date” and “Set Product as New To Date” set

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
WisdOMbooks
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  144
Joined:  2007-08-31
Kolkata (Calcutta) - INDIA
 

This is NOT a *scientific* solution
in the sense that one has to fix certain products as *new*
and give them new & expired dates.

A better, automatized solution is the need:
call all the products added in the last week/month/3months, etc.
without any manual intervention,
which is only time-wasting and subject to error.

The *beauty* in the computers is that
they can help us accomplish ripetative tasks and that
they are much faster than any of our manual solutions.
Let’s use them for their capacities and
we will be un-burdened
of most of our boring common works.

In theory it should not be much more coding
than a simple query like:
select all products with date bigger than 1 week / 1 month / three months
order them newest to oldest… or something like that wink

A n g e l o

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
keithbrown
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-08-27
 

how do you apply the directResize to new.phtml? I keep getting an error that i called a function

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
nikefido
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  481
Joined:  2008-07-11
New Haven, CT
 
Ron Seigel - 08 July 2008 11:07 AM

It just blows me away a year later and Magento still doesn’t have this very basic functionality built in.

It has to be the ONLY ecommerce solution that doesn’t have this on the planet.

lazymunk showed the solution, 2nd post in this thread. it exists.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top