Magento Forum

To build and exclude list

Ron Phillips

Total Posts:  57

This probably isn’t an application you guys have considered, but I need to make sure I don’t duplicate product listings on my homepage. Reason behind this is that I’ve figured out how to list multiple categories on a page and I have them output in random order, but the problem is that some products exist in multiple categories.

I’d like to somehow build an exclude list as I progress through building the page. I thought I could make a public array variable in my custom module, but it seems that each call to the class in a new object and the array isn’t being carried on.

I’m new to PHP5, old hat at PHP, so if there is a way I can attach a variable to the Mage object that’d be great.

If you’d like to see what I’ve done so far go here: http://www.boom-studios.net.

I’ve got tons more styling to do over the week-end and it’s a little slow right now, but I hope it’ll improve when we move it to another host.

Thanks for any input.

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

sherrie

Total Posts:  1655
Waterloo, ON

I don’t know how to fix your problem, unfortunately, but I did want to say that I just looked at your site and I like what you’re doing with it - I feel like it reaches your target audience well and does not give off strong “I made this with Magento” vibes - way to go! smile

Magento Community
Magento Community

Ron Phillips

Total Posts:  57

sherrie - 19 June 2008 06:01 PM

I don’t know how to fix your problem, unfortunately, but I did want to say that I just looked at your site and I like what you’re doing with it - I feel like it reaches your target audience well and does not give off strong “I made this with Magento” vibes - way to go! smile