Magento Forum

   
Adding true description to Categories
 
AdamQuadmon
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-06-06
Perugia - Italy
 

I need to add a true description to categories for show them in the frontend category page.
(a textarea related to a TEXT field on the DB)

I Looking inside the code finding two things

1) all the fields dispalyed in the catalog_category/edit (Name, Is Active, etc...) are stored in the eav_attribute table on the DB
2) the catalog/category/edit.phtml make a call to $this->getTabsHtml() that output the forms but I don’t know were is it.

My questions are:

where are the files that generate the forms?
where are the files that manage the forms data to update the DB records
where are (or better how are) sorted those information on the DB?

I very like to work on this product but it’s not easy to understand how it work

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
WisdOMbooks
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  144
Joined:  2007-08-31
Kolkata (Calcutta) - INDIA
 

I cannot truly get what you mean by *true description*
but a textarea, called… *Description*, is already there
when you make a new category.

It takes basic html tags and it works fine (at least for me,
see attached images).

Hope it helps!

CIAO: A n g e l o

Image Attachments
SocSci_backend.jpgSocSci_frontend.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
AdamQuadmon
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-06-06
Perugia - Italy
 

I read some where that this description is only for internal reference… good news!

But is good to understand how to modify some extra fields for learning purpose

thanks a lot

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
WisdOMbooks
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  144
Joined:  2007-08-31
Kolkata (Calcutta) - INDIA
 
Arjuna - 19 June 2008 01:20 PM

I read somewhere that this description is only for internal reference…

As you can see from the image of my front-end,
it is not for internal reference only, but
it goes directly in front of the eyes of the customer,
when s/he sees the category.

CIAO: A n g e l o
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
AdamQuadmon
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-06-06
Perugia - Italy
 

I try to do the same but no description is show on my frontend.

I see that in my backend there are no reference to [STORE VIEW] or others.

Looking at the catalog/category/view.phtml template I see:

echo $this->htmlEscape($this->getCurrentCategory()->getName())

but no other things, I assume that there is a way to call my description like:

$this->getCurrentCategory()->getDescription() or ->getAttribute(’description’)

But in Your version it displays the description as default?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
r0ash
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2009-04-07
 

For those who are looking a way to add new textarea to category, do checkout http://codefight.org/blog/47/56/Adding-new-field-in-category-section-of-magento-ecommerce

This works for Magento 1.4.+

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
steinbauer
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2009-01-11
Czech Republic
 

hello,
problem continues - see image :(

Image Attachments
problem.png
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top