Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How much RAM do I need? 
 
andi303
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2010-01-04
 

Hi all,

There are a lot of suggestions on how to speed up magento. Two main issues are
- memory recommendations for MySQL
- APC cache
... and some other good recommendations affecting the main memory.

So, if I want to use all these features, how many system memory do I need?
I ask this question because there are a lot of hosting provider which offer virtual servers for a low price. However, more system memory significantly affects the price of these virtual servers.
Let’s say, just hypothetically, that I want to build a magento shop with 1000 products. Would a linux virtual server with 500MB RAM bring enough perfomance?

Thanks in advance,
Caroline

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
darley
Member
 
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2008-02-06
Boituva - SP Brasil
 

Hello,

I run a magento store 1.4.0.1 with 1500 itens at a Hostgator VPS, I have 1.98 GHZ and 1344 MB of Ram memory.

I did many speed test with http://tools.pingdom.com/ and http://loadimpact.com/pageanalyzer.php and belive me:

THE FASTEST WAY FOR MY SITE IS WHEN I RUN .HTACCESS WITH 32MB OF MEMORY

I have memcache and I do not know why with some just litle memory I gote the best performance and I did this test many times: with 256MB, 128MB, 64MB and 32MB.

betwen 256MB and 32MB, 256 is 1 second slow than with 32 Mb.

soo my conclusion is that you do not need too many ram… and I do not know why…

regards,

Darley Cassimiro

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
andi303
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2010-01-04
 

Darley,

you mean the “php_value memory_limit” option?
Have you tried any other optimizations, like APC cache?
What settings do you have for MySQL (my.cnf)?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
darley
Member
 
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2008-02-06
Boituva - SP Brasil
 

Yes, I mean “php_value memory_limit” with 32Mb, this was the best performance for my server usign Magento 1.4.0.1

I just use Memcache and never trie APC Cache.

my.cnf is:

[mysqld]
#skip-innodb
key_buffer = 128M
join_buffer_size = 4MB
max_allowed_packet = 64M
table_cache = 2000
table_definition_cache = 2000
sort_buffer_size = 4m
read_buffer_size = 4m
read_rnd_buffer_size = 2m
myisam_sort_buffer_size = 64m
tmp_table_size = 128m
query_cache_size = 96m
query_cache_type = 1
thread_cache_size = 8
max_connections = 45
wait_timeout = 60
max_heap_table_size = 128M

concurrent_insert=2
low_priority_updates=1
innodb_lock_wait_timeout = 50
innodb_buffer_pool_size = 320M

regards,

Darley

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
andi303
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2010-01-04
 

Darley,

thanks for your help!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Vemund Eldegard
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2010-06-19
 

I can say that 500 MB RAM is not enough, this makes the server give errors, and you can’t do anything. I just expirienced this, and I am going to upgrade my server.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top