Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Poll
Do you have USPS shippin methods set-up and working?
Yes, works perfect... 50
Yes, but it took a long time... 37
No, I still can’t get it to work right... 295
No, never really tried... 46
Total Votes: 428
You must be a logged-in member to vote
USPS - Everyone’s Issue
 
CCondra
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  45
Joined:  2009-04-15
Lemon Grove, California (San Diego County)
 

I have read everything on this subject and still can’t get it to work.

I have access to the production server. The message they sent (see below) provides the Gateway URLs but also and says that there’s a line of code that refers to “shippingapitest.dll” needs to have the word “test” edited out. Are they referring to this test url they gave me when I signed up as a developer?

https://secure.shippingapis.com/ShippingAPITest.dll

I think someone in this thread used the test URL as the Gateway URL, (with the word “test” edited out). But I don’t think that’s what they’re saying. I tried it anyway, and it didn’t work.

For the life of me, I can’t find the line of code they’re talking about.  There’s a discussion that comes close at http://trado.info/node/167, but the location he gives for editing the shipping set up doesn’t make sense to me: He says, “...Then you might just add the server to the shipping setup at ...index.php/admin/system_config/edit/section/carriers/ as I did.” There’s no path like that anywhere that I can see…

Can anyone tell me where I can find the file with the reference to shippingapitest.dll?

Thank you!

here’s the letter from the USPS:
-------------------------------
Thank you for contacting us.  Congratulations on completing your testing using the U.S. Postal Service’s Internet Shipping Application Program Interfaces (APIs). Your profile has been updated to allow you access to the Production Server.

1. The Production Server URL is: http://production.shippingapis.com. For APIs calling the secure server, the URL is https://secure.shippingapis.com.
2. There is a line of code that refers to “shippingapitest.dll”.  You’ll need to remove the word “test”.

If you are using third party software and need assistance, please contact the vendor of the software.  They should be able to assist you in obtaining live information using our APIs.

Thank you for using the USPS Shipping APIs.
---------------------------------------

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
CCondra
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  45
Joined:  2009-04-15
Lemon Grove, California (San Diego County)
 

I got this RESOLVED.  I think this is a documentation issue!

When you sign up with USPS as a developer, they initially send two sandbox urls—one to the test production server and the other to a test secure server:

http://testing.shippingapis.com/ShippingAPITest.dll
https://secure.shippingapis.com/ShippingAPITest.dll

Then, when you request access to the production server, they send these new urls:

http://production.shippingapis.com
https://secure.shippingapis.com

Well, none of these are gonna work.

My first mistake was to try to connect to the secure server, rather than the production server.  My second mistake was to try to follow the instructions they provided. Basically, you need to combine parts of the testing and production urls to create a working Gateway url.

So starting with the sandbox url you received, replace the word “testing” with “production” and remove the word “test” from the end of the url:

Sandbox Gateway URL:  http://testing.shippingapis.com/ShippingAPITest.dll

This becomes your Gateway URL to the live production server, (assuming they have updated your profile to give you access to the production server. 

So here it is, in all its glory:

Gateway URL: http://production.shippingapis.com/ShippingAPI.dll

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tilzinger
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  126
Joined:  2007-12-27
 

My issue is that no matter what I add to the Handling Fee field, the total shipping cost does not change at all. What am I doing wrong?

Enabled: Yes
Gateway URL: http://production.shippingapis.com/ShippingAPI.dll
Title: USPS
User ID: xxxx
Container : Variable
Size: Regular
Machinable: No (What does Machinable mean anyway?)
Maximum Package Weight: 70
Calculate Handling Fee: Fixed
Handling Applied: Per Order
Handling fee: 2, 5, 10, 20 Does not matter what I set this to, the total shipping cost does not change.
Allowed methods: Priority Mail
Free method: None
Free shipping with minimum order amount: Enabled
Minimum order amount for free shipping: 100

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cloudesign
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2009-06-02
 

I have a client that wants to use Flat Rate shipping. Is setting all of this up with the USPS API more than I need?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
hypes057
Member
 
Total Posts:  54
Joined:  2009-07-12
 

My issue with USPS server is getting the USER ID field to CHANGE. Right now it displays *****, my user id is at least 10 digits long. If I put the new one in and save, it just reverts back to the *****. If I delete it then save it is left blank. What gives? Anyone else have this issue? Anyone solve it?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tilzinger
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  126
Joined:  2007-12-27
 

@hypes057, I think it’s supposed to do that… revert to visually showing ***** no matter what you enter. If you enter your user id, then save, then it should be in the system.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
charlene.therien
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2009-03-04
Peoria, IL USA
 
jballotti - 02 October 2008 07:09 AM

After reading this post and sending a request to the Post Office to move me to the production server I received the following:

Thank you for contacting us. The test logs under your UserID do not show valid test requests.  We are unable to move your account to the production server until a valid test request is received.  If you are using third party software, testing is not required. However, you must provide us with the name of the software you are using.  We can then update your account.

I replied to this email telling them that I was using Magento and received the following a short time later.

Thank you for contacting us.  Congratulations on completing your testing using the U.S. Postal Service’s Internet Shipping Application Program Interfaces (APIs).
Your profile has been updated to allow you access to the Production Server.

1. The Production Server URL is: http://production.shippingapis.com. For APIs calling the secure server, the URL is https://secure.shippingapis.com.
2. There is a line of code that refers to “shippingapitest.dll”.  You’ll need to remove the word “test”.

If you are using third party software and need assistance, please contact the vendor of the software.  They should be able to assist you in obtaining live information using our APIs.

Thank you for using the USPS Shipping APIs.

I hope this helps others trying to setup the USPS shipping module.

smile

This was a HUGE help and solved my USPS shipping issues in one day.  Everything’s working now—thank you SO much!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
geoffT
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2008-05-22
 

I read through this entire thread, tried everything, emailed USPS to confirm settings, to no avail.  I then noticed a couple of settings that might be conflicting:

1) Changed the weight max to 4lbs (this is the max for International Priority Flat Rate, which is what I was trying to use).
2) Changed the Container setting to Rectangular (it was set to Flat-Rate Envelope)
3) Verified that Allowed Methods was set to Priority Mail International Flat-rate Envelope, as opposed to Priority Mail Flat-rate Envelope.

After that, it worked.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vbwebsites
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  93
Joined:  2009-01-12
Virginia
 

Is it just me or does usps take a long time to return results? When i just had ups and fedex, shipping quotes were fast. With USPS, it is dragging.

I am using: http://production.shippingapis.com/ShippingAPI.dll

I get the results but it just seems awfully slow.

Version: 1.3.2.3

Thanks,
Brady

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
acorbelli
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2009-07-03
 

I’ve done everything in this thread and can’t figure this out. In the email from the USPS I have a Username and Password, which one is my ID?

The URL is set up properly, my account was okayed with the USPS, etc...it’s driving me nuts.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Pin Oak
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2009-01-05
 

I am having same issue.

“This shipping method is currently unavailable. If you would like to ship using this shipping method, please contact us.”

The shipping was working for about 2 weeks then all of a sudden started getting this message.

I have called USPS and everything is working on their end.

Any ideas???

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
umairkhan491
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2009-12-23
 

Greetings,
I am more of a joomla person and magento became my first time experience due to my clients requirements.. I ran into the same USPS problems as many of you.

However I do have a solution..

Follow the guidelines listed previously very carefully..

I did the following..
- Signed up for webtools..
- Told USPS im on a 3rd party software known as magento..
- Got moved to Production server.
- Linked up the proper URL gateway information and my userid (After it was moved into production.)
(As Ccondra mentioned the proper URL is - http://production.shippingapis.com/ShippingAPI.dll )
- YET I STILL HAD AN ISSUE!! USPS STILL SAID UNAVAILABLE!

So what did I do next?

Without modifying any code.. Nor doing that line 392 modification listed in some previous tutorials.. I simply did the following..
(P.S I also noted many people having problems are in version 1.3.2.4, am I right or wrong?)

Change the max weight class of the USPS profile from its default 70lbs too 5lbs (Just for testing purposes..)
- Next do the following.. Select “Express Mail, First Class, First class intl, Priority Mail, Priority Mail Flat-rate box, Priority Mail Intl.”
- Only when I selected the shipping options presented above did my USPS FINALLY START RESPONDING! I no longer got the “Unavailable” error..

- To my understanding, when you select a domestic and/or international carrier you need to select the proper shipping methods available for that service line. Otherwise the USPS API may just crap out all together. (Kind of like ASP.net if 1 string of code is error’d, you get the dreaded white and yellow error screen.)

It almost seems as if USPS needs those options to be selected for activation. You can then go back and modify your requirements accordingly..

I hope this works out for you guys, I went through hell before getting mine to work. Magento USPS module made a bald man rip his scalp off..

Best of luck wink

Umair Khan
QuadronSolutions.com (Site under development.)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ahuacatlan
Member
 
Total Posts:  37
Joined:  2009-11-23
 

my USPS shipping was working fine for about 3 weeks. then on the 4th of january it randomly stopped working. got a call from a customer who informed me.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
turbo123
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2009-03-11
 

Has anyone who has got this working recently post a screenshot of the entire settings for USPS?  I cannot get this to work for the life of me.  I have production access and have tried everything in this thread.  Anyone? Please?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ahuacatlan
Member
 
Total Posts:  37
Joined:  2009-11-23
 

usps shipping module is totally fucked.
mine abruptly stopped working one day, and I hadn’t made any config changes for weeks before that.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top