Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Image type and information need to be specified for each store view. 
 
carroll12
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2010-10-07
 

I will pay someone to lend a hand me fix this issue (even though it sounds like a bug to me).  I’ve tried just about everything, as well as attempt to debug the code.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
GedByrne
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2010-10-17
 

I too was experiencing this issue (using version 1.4.1.1 Community Edition)… I was attempting to upload using both Chrome and Firefox.

I then attempted to upload product images using Internet Explorer and hey presto it works.  Looks like Varien have an issue with the Flash Uploader on platforms other than Internet Explorer.

Hope this helps!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mattclegg
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2010-05-26
 

I too was getting the white box with no flash uploader on the image upload screen, and it was sending me crazy. Until I inspected the flash element and noticed that the folder the flash loader was trying to load a file from;

XXX/skin/adminhtml/default/default/media/uploader.swf

but the folder did not exist, so I copied the base folder ie;

cp skin/adminhtml/base skin/adminhtml/default -Rfp

This sorted the problem, and I can now upload files. I would check this first, as it could save you alot of time in reconfiguring php/permissions when the problem can be easily fixed.

---
MattClegg
If this helped you, why not help me?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tokalpeshdp
Member
 
Total Posts:  69
Joined:  2010-07-27
 

same on 1.4.2 :(

tried to upload using both Chrome and latest Firefox.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
gianmario
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2011-01-14
 

the php script is perfect , also use explorer instead than firefox it’s a good suggest, i resolved all my problems in 5 minute . thank you to all !

gianmario

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pyrojonc
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  33
Joined:  2011-01-15
 

Similar issue… Able to see upload button.. able to upload and see thumbnail in the product details area… when I save and go back in and look the image is gone and I see “no image”.  On front nothing shows.

I have seen that the image is uploading to the /media/tmp/catalog/products/ directory, but is not copying to the actual catalog dir.  I have gone in and looked at the database and no entry is added for the image that I had tried to upload.

Anyone seen this before?

(dull uploader doesnt make a difference, because the problem is not in uploading, but in processing and saving the file)

EDITED: Problem solved… it seems that in my case, the magic_quotes_gpc setting in the main .htaccess file was set to OFF and needed to be set to ON.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
worldclique
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2010-01-04
 
ortiizz - 26 August 2010 11:38 PM

Macsimice - 21 August 2010 05:16 AM
Check the .htaccess file in the images directory. Sometimes the images are uploaded just fine, but the htaccess won’t allow your browser to fetch and display the images.

FINALLY! TYTYTY! .htaccess file in media folder created the problem for me...

OMFG! After banging my head searching and searching the forums for a solution to this I followed the above about the .htaccess file in the media directory. I just used the .htaccess file from my root and now all of my images are displaying!!

hoooooooooorrrrrrraaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyy!!

smoooccchhh

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
IkeyZealous
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  17
Joined:  2010-06-07
 

Yes. Using Internet Explorer instead of Chrome or Firefox is the best solution. It works for me. Still see the silly message about image info but image upload works just fine. Thanks guys

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rimamkt
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  21
Joined:  2009-10-05
 

Same here. Could not find a straight forward solution, so I just used IE for now…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Sousa
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  348
Joined:  2007-09-02
Porto, Portugal
 

I solved with this extension:

No Flash Image Uploader

Great!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Vexcor Systems
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2010-04-15
Czech Republic
 

We had same problem in our eshops, after some server os updates Image Upload and category expand in backend not worked. We tried .htaccess tricks, permissions magic on the media folder, but problem was still here. I found solution for magento 1.4.1.1 and above (1.5 too) somewhere in google:
1. Download prototype 1.6.0.3 (only this version worked in our magento), we tried newest versions but it doesnt work
2. Change old prototype in js/prototype/prototype.js with new one
3. edit app/etc/config.xml and row
<initStatements>SET NAMES utf8</initStatements>
change to:
<initStatements>SET NAMES utf8; SET FOREIGN_KEY_CHECKS=0; SET UNIQUE_CHECKS=0;</initStatements>

now Image upload and Category tree work like a charm smile

P.S. In attachment is correct prototype.js (1.6.0.3)

File Attachments
prototype.zip  (File Size: 30KB - Downloads: 336)
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
magentosde
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-04-07
 

Yes that damned .htaccess file in media folder was screwing the all thing! Now it works well.Thank you!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
dizmarkie
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  19
Joined:  2008-05-30
 
pyrojonc - 17 January 2011 09:19 PM

Similar issue… Able to see upload button.. able to upload and see thumbnail in the product details area… when I save and go back in and look the image is gone and I see “no image”.  On front nothing shows.

I have seen that the image is uploading to the /media/tmp/catalog/products/ directory, but is not copying to the actual catalog dir.  I have gone in and looked at the database and no entry is added for the image that I had tried to upload.

Anyone seen this before?

(dull uploader doesnt make a difference, because the problem is not in uploading, but in processing and saving the file)

EDITED: Problem solved… it seems that in my case, the magic_quotes_gpc setting in the main .htaccess file was set to OFF and needed to be set to ON.

This fixed for me, so weird, i never had this issue before and have heard no complaints from any of my clients on the same hosting setups. Just happened to me when I moved my site from my local to a development remote server. Thanks for this!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MageAction
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  89
Joined:  2008-05-28
France
 

I had the same issue with firefox: “Image type and information need to be specified for each store view. “

solved using Chrome

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
nathanboli
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-02-09
 

I had the same error message. Just like #57, I tried all of the .htaccess solutions, checked permissions, did some debugging. I followed the same steps in #57 and problem solved in Magento 1.6

SOLUTION -----> http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/v/viewreply/356912/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top