Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
Hopefully an easy fix with the admin category section
 
tandylacker
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  207
Joined:  2009-01-07
 

To be able to add a subcategory to an existing category you need to be able to click the category. When you click it, it should turn light orangish red. When I click mine it doesn’t respond. When I double click it then it will expand, but still won’t be clicked so that I can create a subcategory.

So basically it won’t let me select any of the categories in the admin so I can’t add any categories, any subcategories, or edit any existing categories.

Any ideas?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tandylacker
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  207
Joined:  2009-01-07
 

Update -

If I click a category and hold the click for about 2 seconds then it will color it as if it was selected. But still not selected.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NeilA
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1372
Joined:  2007-09-17
Blue Mountains, Oz
 

Sounds like a js problem, but first:
* What version Magento?
* Does it make a difference using a different browser?
* Installed on WAMP or a remote server?
* Any changes made recently?
* any similar symptoms elsewhere in admin?

Regards

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tandylacker
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  207
Joined:  2009-01-07
 
NeilA - 29 January 2011 01:50 PM

Sounds like a js problem, but first:
* What version Magento?
* Does it make a difference using a different browser?
* Installed on WAMP or a remote server?
* Any changes made recently?
* any similar symptoms elsewhere in admin?

Regards

Version 1.4.2

Same issue in newest version of Firefox, newest version of Chrome, and IE9.

This is an active site that has been online for a couple years. Upgraded to 1.4.2 a month ago or so.

Only change would be an update to an ajax extension for adding products to the cart.

I checked the product pages and admin order pages and things seem to work. On the same category page I can create a new category in the root by just filling in the new category information that loads when you go to the manage categories page. So all the buttons in the admin work, all the javascript works, except for choosing categories in the little category tree. I can expand and collapse the category tree, but I can’t actually select a category for editing or creating subcategories within the selected category.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tandylacker
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  207
Joined:  2009-01-07
 

I should note though that the ajax extension was updated on a dev version of the site that is an exact copy. The categories work fine on the dev site after this ajax extension upgrade. So the ajax extension was the only change since the categories worked previously, but this upgrade didn’t affect the dev site so I don’t think it is relevant.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NeilA
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1372
Joined:  2007-09-17
Blue Mountains, Oz
 

So… if you can create a root category, why not then just drag and drop it to the sub category that you want it in?
I realise it’s not a total fix, but it can get you going…

Perhaps in the meantime someone else with more js experience will have a better solution.

Regards

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tandylacker
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  207
Joined:  2009-01-07
 
NeilA - 29 January 2011 02:06 PM

So… if you can create a root category, why not then just drag and drop it to the sub category that you want it in?
I realise it’s not a total fix, but it can get you going…

Perhaps in the meantime someone else with more js experience will have a better solution.

Regards

Because I can only create categories in the root. I can’t interact with them. I wouldn’t be able to drag it anywhere…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tandylacker
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  207
Joined:  2009-01-07
 

Found someone that was able to figure this out. He says he found an error that was trying to call a method on a javascript object that never was created. He commented out the two calls on the object and problem fixed.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tempo-ecommerce
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2009-06-10
 

I have the same problem. Can you please tell me which file and code was commented

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ereckers
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2008-10-23
San Francisco, CA
 

It’s a JavaScript error that causes this. I was able to take care of it by commenting out (essentially removing) 2 lines in the edit.phtml file calling a toolbarToggle object.

File: app/design/adminhtml/default/default/template/catalog/category/edit.phtml

line 75 toolbarToggle.stop();
line 94 toolbarToggle.start();

So, basically, it’s something like this:

function updateContent(urlparamsrefreshTree{
        
if (!params{
            params 
{};
        
}
        
if (!params.form_key{
            params
.form_key FORM_KEY;
        
}

/* Throws error (undefined ojbect) at Catalog : Manage Categories page
 *       toolbarToggle.stop();
 */

       /*if(params.node_name)
       {
           var currentNode = tree.getNodeById(tree.currentNodeId);
           currentNode.setText(params.node_name);
       }*/

        
var categoryContainer = $('category-edit-container');
        var 
messagesContainer = $('messages');
        var 
thisObj this;
        new 
Ajax.Request(url + (url.match(new RegExp('\\?')) ? '&isAjax;=true' '?isAjax=true' ), {
            parameters
:  params,
            
evalScriptstrue,
            
onComplete: function () {
                
try {
                    
if (refreshTree{
                        thisObj
.refreshTreeArea();
                    
}
/* Throws error (undefined ojbect) at Catalog : Manage Categories page
 *                   toolbarToggle.start();
 */
                
catch (e{
                    alert(e
.message);
                
};
            
},

My upgrade path was 1.4.1.1 to 1.4.2.0.

Towards the bottom of this post here is basically the same solution:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/213517/#t287035

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
surfpacific
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2011-03-20
 

Thanks for posting this solution, it also works for version 1.6.2.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ereckers
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2008-10-23
San Francisco, CA
 

This also seems to be needed from a 1.4.2.0 to 1.5.1.0 upgrade path.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
antz_d
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2012-02-07
 

Hi guys,

I know it has been a while since this thread opened, but I am having the same issue. I have tried the fix described but have had no luck.

Has anyone found another fix?

Cheers

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mage Magician
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  98
Joined:  2011-01-12
 

Best Solution is download the same version of Magento and replace js/mage/adminhtml/product.js file into your Magento site from downloaded Magento copy.

Hope this will work for you.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
antz_d
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2012-02-07
 

Thanks Mage Magician, i gave it a try but no luck, still the same problem.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mage Magician
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  98
Joined:  2011-01-12
 

Then install firebug plugin in FF browser and check exact JS error. This will help you to resolve the issue.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2